Skip to content
March 13, 2012 / dcwisdom

On the first day of Spring Break, this is what I did…

Happy Spring Break!

I’m not at the beach playing beach volleyball with all the ripped hottees.  No, college senior-seniors do things like this…

I photographed wildflowers.  Actually, I only snapped her picture while I stoked the bonfire of old, rotted firewood.  I don’t know her name, but she looks like a little bunny playing hide-n-seek.  See how tiny she is against my boot.

I love it that God gives us a carpet of beautiful, spring wildflowers every year.  The dandelions are in bloom; I might collect some for a salad later.

The garden shed needed some attention this week.  Since our last few winters have been rather mild, we had little need for the use of our wood stove, and snakes, spiders, and termites love these old wood piles.

Now, this is frightening.  I normally don’t hang in scary places; I leave projects like this for Rick and the boys.  However, I braved myself with gloves, boots, rake, and hoe, holstered my  pistol to shoot snakes, and dug in.  Fortunately, it’s too early for snakes and spiders, but one brown bunny scampered away, although I didn’t find a bunny nest.   Many of the vines are wild blackberries which fruit grows to the size of a blueberry.

I discovered my new tomato bed there.  See the tin on the ground?  The tin was underneath the old wood.  I yanked it up and found beautiful soil, perfect for tomatoes.   I re-stacked the firewood and raked up great compost for the garden.

Monday’s garden shed project – check.  Day two’s in the making.

Happy Spring Break!  This is better’n a beach party!

One Comment

  1. debsladybugtexas / Mar 14 2012 12:11 PM

    I love your header….enjoy your break..don’t work too hard

Comments are closed.