Skip to content
February 24, 2012 / dcwisdom

Synergy and Hot Toddies

This bird bath sits beneath and between two huge pines in my yard.  I moved it into its new spot this week thinking the birds would enjoy it more than I.  While it’s dry for now, I spread seed in it, and the squirrels haven’t bothered it…yet.   As you can see below, this little fatty guarded his bird feeder like a hawk and gobbled the seed in one day.

Well, the cold/sinus junk finally caught me.  For almost two weeks, I’ve been hacking the junk, eating cough drops, chugging the hot toddies, and hanging upside down.  My great-uncle introduced me years ago to the hot toddy.  It’s some pretty good stuff.  I usually use about 1/4 cup Jack Daniels, 1 tablespoon honey, and half a lemon, squeezed.  Forget the water.  Bring it to a boil, and drink it straight.  I’m tough like that (since I’m NOT a drinker).  It delivers a kick.  Then go to bed.

Yesterday, Brin and I shopped at Goodwill.  I hate paying the price for clothes and don’t even like to shop, but I like good clothes.  I look for the name brands.  Sometimes it’s slim pickins, but I came home with five garments for $18.00.  Pretty darn good shopping day, I’d say.

Leaving town, we drove by the Granary (health food store) and bought Synergy, an organic drink that says HELLO with the first sip.  It tastes like an apple cider vinegar base with healthy additions like strawberry, cranberry, and other fruity juices along with great herbs and spices.  I sipped on the drink the last 24 hours, and I give the stuff credit for me feeling so much better today.  (And you know, of course, nobody told me to say any of this stuff for them – not Jack, Goodwill, Granary, or Synergy.)

I (still) really like my college classes.  This week, my night class was notified that a classmate was recently diagnosed with viral meningitis and is hospitalized, and the campus doc came for discussion with our class.  The person sat in the row in front of me and down one seat – pretty close.  As soon as the school was notified, housekeeping department went into full swing disinfecting a great part of the building and notifying classes that use the particular room and all the university students.  So far, there are no other reports of meningitis.  Thank God, it was not bacterial.  If you think of it, pray for the student and all, please.

Two more classes and my first truncated course, Career Management and Work-Life Integration, will be history.  Class population is about 70 people, and we divided into Baby Boomers (born 1946-1963), Generation X (1964-1979), and Generation Y (1979-1999).  Our discussion was about current issues we face in the workplace.  This is what the Baby Boomers identified as challenges:

  • age discrimination – Employers definitely consider the younger employee over maturity and experience.
  • appearance – As men grow older, they look distinguished; as women grow older, they are viewed as older.  It’s not acceptable that women look older.
  • health problems (with self and family members) – vision, hearing, lack of youthful exuberance, etc.
  • We don’t have much time left.  😦
  • sandwich generation – While we have older parents to help with their issues, many baby boomers are rearing their grandchildren or continue supporting their adult children.
  • salary and non-salary compensation – BB’s are overlooked for the younger, less experienced, and cheaper laborers.  I insert here that employers also consider the issue of health insurance, benefits, and retirement for anyone over 50.

Sorry for being Debbie Downer tonight.  Don’t mean to be; I just thought this exercise information is interesting and challenging at this time in my life.  You know, I NEVER envisioned myself at this age, never even thought about it.  I’m starting to think about it now and am in the process of setting goals of how I’d like to finish my life.

After spring break, I’ll take my second truncated course (Advance Mass Communications) to finish out the semester.  Should be fun.  I LOVE these seven week courses.  I still don’t have my degree plan.  This summer, I plan to knock out college algebra (YUCK) by CLEP.  Talk about procrastinating!  I’ve procrastinated taking algebra for 37 years!
I’m outta here!  Hey, I heard someone say, “You’ll never be as young again as you are today.”  Take advantage, friends!  🙂
XO
3 Comments

  1. tanna / Feb 26 2012 8:12 AM

    Hope you are feeling MUCH better by today. All I have to say is that aging is NOT for sissies!! Who knew?!!! I’m still waitin’ for you to ‘come on down’! 😉 blessings ~ tanna

  2. Deborah Pucci / Feb 25 2012 1:13 PM

    I am sure that hot toddy would knock me out which is exactly what you want when you have a cold! Apple Cider Vinegar is supposed to help colds so I guess the Synergy worked. I haven’t heard of it before.

  3. Vickie / Feb 24 2012 11:06 PM

    Hey, Deb – Good to hear from ya – I tried to comment on your last post, but for some reason, it wouldn’t let me. Pooh. When is your spring break? I’d love to see ya. I’ll bet Tara’s is not the same time as yours is. I’d love to have another girl day! I’m glad you’re enjoying you semester and I hear ya loud and clear on the Baby Boomer thing. We are having to find health insurance since Tony left his job. It’s difficult to get coverage, but we finally did get some just yesterday. It’ll be expensive. But at least we got it.

    Let me know what your schedule is and we’ll see if we can work something out. Hayley will be out the week of March 12. I don’t know if she’s coming home or what yet. Love you – miss you – Me

Comments are closed.