Skip to content
February 14, 2012 / dcwisdom

There is no new thing under the sun…

Most people believe that King Solomon authored the Bible book of Ecclesiastes; however, biblical scholars believe the book was penned by an unknown person (maybe The Preacher Qoheleth) writing, perhaps, for Solomon – a biographer, of sorts.  No difference here, and this opening sentence has no significance whatsoever to my subject, except that Qoheleth said, “The thing that hath been, it is that which shall be; and that which is done is that which shall be done, and there is no new thing under the sun.”  (Eccl. 1:9, KJV)

When I embarked on this new back-to-college adventure, I carried no preconceived notions.  Honestly.  But, sincerely, academia changed since I last attended classes 30-plus years ago.  (Has it really been that long?)  If you were alive and cognizant back then, you remember that a computer was the size of a large, metal desk or upright piano with buttons, switches, and gadgets on an inclined panel with a boxy screen.  I hate to say that Qoheleth was wrong, but Qoheleth was wrong.  The invention of this metaphoric WWW-behemoth is certainly new as opposed to paper and pen or papyrus and quill.

And academia caught up.  Hence, online testing – something new under the sun.  Qoheleth was wrong.

I stand utterly amazed at the wonder of it all!  It reminds me of my days in the science lab studying body cells.  Here’s a cell (here’s a computer); it contains a membrane (program) which contains cytoplasm (test) which contains the nucleus (question) which contains the chromosomes (answer) which contains nucleic acid (enter correct choice) or DNA (or not)…  You get the picture.  (In case you’re wondering – no, I didn’t remember all that stuff.  I had to look it up.  That was 30+ years ago!)

My first practice test tonight, worth 14 points, was a bomb.  I scored 4.  Fortunately, my professor only posted the practice test and forgot to post the real test, so I have a few more hours to study.  My weakness is in multiple choice which I detest.  Give me true-false or fill-in-the-blank or essay.  Oh, pleasepleaseplease, don’t throw me in the multiple choice briar patch!  Or just give me a multiple choice brain…please, Lord.

Before class today, I sat in the lounge where a good-many students gather between classes.  I sit and pretend to read, but I’m a good eavesdropper.  Did you know that students still cheat on tests?!  My goodness!  Yep, there’s nothing new under the sun.  They even have online tests (basically the old open-book tests) figured out only because they’re timed tests.  I sit and listen in amazement.   Where are their consciences?  Where’s their shame?

Nothing new…Qoheleth was right.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

