Skip to content
January 29, 2012 / dcwisdom

Slow and Easy

I enjoy days like today, when things are quieter and slower paced.  My mom-in-law is visiting for the weekend; kids have been in, out, and mostly out.  Except for Matt.

He’s our newest, twenty-something kid, our latest adoptee.  Matt served his country in uniform, graduated Bible college, and now makes him home here with our family.  He fits in quite well; I think he’ll like it here.

Things have happened this week in which you have little or no interest, so I’ll spare you the details.   (Hint:  Rick’s abscessed tooth.  See I told you…)  Anyway, we needed the slower pace this weekend, plus, it was in the 40’s today!  *brrrrrrrr… 🙂 *

After watching a little debate on Thursday, I decided that Romney just ain’t got it for me.  He is too coiffed (that hair is just overly sprayed) for me, too polished, too scripted, and unsubstantial.  I can’t feel a connection.  I gave him a chance, but…nope…didn’t happen.  In my books, it’s down to three.  I’ve heard many people whine, “I just don’t like the choices,” but those are the men who have balls enough to be out there, so pick one!  Any one of them will be better than a man who bows to foreign kings!  

I watched a little of the State of the Union and thought back to my high school days, sitting in the gym on Friday afternoon before the big game listening to the head coach at the pep rally.  Same song, third verse.  “Let’s go get ’em, boys!  We can do this!  Hold hands across the line!  On to victory!”   And then, did you see his interview with Diane Sawyer?  That big, wide, toothy smile said, “I’m guilty!”  When he smiles that big and dodges the question, you KNOW Jan Brewer was right!  How does he sleep at night?

We can agree to disagree, if need be.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

 

 

 

 

7 Comments

  1. Sue Giachero / Jan 31 2012 8:44 AM

    Enjoying a relaxing morning here on vacation in Florida and peeped on over to your place. Saw Newt on Sunday. What a dynamic speaker! No notes, no teleprompter! Mitt was here last night but did not go and watch him. He is too plastic for me. Did walk through the town square an hour before he spoke and was struck by how dull his crowd was. We arrived 2 hours before Newt and the crowd was large already and chatty and energized. Interesting that the management here (The Villages in Florida) obviously supports Mitt as the venue they let him speak at was nicer and they set up for it big time. They had food vendors (and open bars) everywhere. Funny thing is, there was no one in line! Newt was in a parking lot by a book store and the crowds were phenomenal and it was hot and vendors would have raked in the money had they been there. Also evident that Mitt has money- they had huge tv screens for viewing in addition to seeing him on the dais. You had to have a ticket to get in close. No tickets needed for Newt- just a parking lot and people sitting and standing (my estimates around 4000 there but the paper did not concur although those there with me did) Sadly money usually wins. No one is perfect and none of these candidates are BUT they are at least much better options than what we have now. I fear another 4 years of O and pray that Americans will have the wisdom to not allow that to happen.
    Sue

  2. tanna / Jan 30 2012 8:20 PM

    WE so NEED a leader. I was driving down I-20 and saw the “Ronald Regan Memorial Highway” signs… and I almost cried. blessings ~ tanna

  3. Mary / Jan 30 2012 4:34 AM

    There are two that I would vote for right now. I love this entire process! My husband would switch over to the State of the Union address, but I told him to quit that. Can’t believe much of what this president says, and I don’t want him speel beamed into my house.

    I love your opinions; keep up the good work.

  4. Vickie / Jan 29 2012 7:26 PM

    Hi Deb – we really don’t have much to choose from this election year, do we. Sad. Wish we had someone that would just rise to the top who was someone we could support whole-heartedly and without reserve! Alas, we just need somebody to beat out Obama. What lofty ideals we have sunk to.

  5. Cheryl / Jan 29 2012 1:50 PM

    I, too, agree. I’ve become very disappointed in Romney. However, ANYONE of the four who are left would be better than Obama. Take a look at this you tube clip….he is simply recycling garbage. The man doesn’t have a clue! Same old load of you-know-what from the worst president in my 50 plus years.

    http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_uri=%2F&gl=US#/watch?v=UDDRiGIUYQo

    God help America, Indeed!!

  6. Deborah Pucci / Jan 29 2012 11:57 AM

    I like what you said “Any one of them will be better than a man who bows to foreign kings! ”
    Amen!

  7. Deb / Jan 29 2012 7:27 AM

    Oh I agree with you whole heartily I don’t like Romney either he stammers too much for me. I’m loving your sons blog

Comments are closed.