Skip to content
January 10, 2012 / dcwisdom

Reflections of 2011

Hello and Happy New Year!  I hope this post finds you well and already prosperous in our new year.

Reflecting back on 2011 is a new exercise for me; I have never been one to collectively reflect on any years past, sadly.  The key word here is “collectively.”  I tend to focus more in the here and now and immediate future; I guess that’s the woman in me.  Good thing, since I’m not a man.  Truly, I mentally limit my thoughts of the past for various reasons, but this week I made myself think about this past year.

No. 1:  I returned to college in January.  This go’round is my third trip into the college world, and, hopefully, the last.  Actually, I am a better student just because I morphed into a more organized and focused person through the years.  That’s what we hope happens in our lives, don’t we?  We become wiser, smarter, more balanced.  Of course, my children don’t understand those things about me, yet.  While I attended the beautiful church luncheon prior to my grandmother’s funeral, my children were en route to Paris.  On the main route provided by GPS, they came upon a horrific accident which had the traffic stalled for a few miles.  They turned onto an unknown road and called me.  “Mom, we’re in Boxelder.  Where are we?  How do we get to Paris?”  Because I am familiar with many towns and routes from years of traveling, I said, “Ok.  Keep driving until you come to Bogata, turn north on 271 and travel on to Paris.”  When they arrived, they commented to Rick about my knowledge of the area.  I’ve always loved cartography and the study of maps, and direction comes quite easily to me, a trait I share(d) with my dad and bloodhounds.   However, those are types of facts we learn as we age.  So, yes, I am a better student in my middle years, enough to earn an extra THIRTY semester credit hours in ONE SEMESTER.  Yes!  That was awesome!

My youngest child and beautiful daughter graduated from high school.  When Mary arrived in our family, she was the gender/comic relief from three active, stair-step boys.  She  loves the fastest roller coasters and contemporary Christian rock.  She sings like a bird, and she and I learned to sing Silver Bells in parts years ago, our special song we sing together.  I am so proud of her character and the new abilities she gains as she matures.  Mary will never realize how much she has taught me this year.

And then, our fourth-born surprised us by proposing to Emily, his beautiful girlfriend of several years.  They married in June and moved into their first apartment in Dallas where they both attend school.  Sam was awarded his ministerial license last May and will graduate in May as a minister of the Gospel.  I love having a minister in the family; in fact, Sam descends from an ancestral line of ministers.

This young man and I spent a summer term together in the same classroom.  Jeremiah and I actually enjoyed comparing class notes, and he held me from taking over the class discussions.   I believe the only reason he still loves me after last summer is because I’m his mother – his mother that whooped his booty in class.  He and I gained a new respect for each other, and I fell head-over-heals for his biology teacher!  Nope – not a crush but a good, strong like.

And, WOW, what a hot, dry, long summer!   So thankful for the recent rains!  After the fires that consumed over 40,000 acres in East Texas and the  fire that burned two acres here where we live, how very much I appreciate our firefighters!  God bless them all!

After a few years of DIY, Rick and I made major strides on the renovation house this year.  We completed the plumbing of three and one-half baths, kitchen, and utility.  Also, we installed and re-routed AC duct work to accommodate the additions.  This chimney project was completed on a weekend that the temps hovered at 107 degrees, so said our outdoor thermometer.  Brutal!  What a beating!  And, I ran the lawn mower only three times during the summer.  Friends, I am so grateful to serve Creator God Who promised us seasons and relief from extreme temperatures and weather patterns!  Thank the Lord!

I love to get FREE things like groceries and gasoline.  I found MPB Today that pays me to shop at Wal-Mart and fill my gas tank and make extra cash by telling other people about it.  If you buy groceries and use gasoline, you need this program!  It’s so simple, it’s pathetic!  And, you can do it, too.  I love sharing good news.

Back to school in August.  Insert family gatherings, fall hunting, touch football, a few road trips, papers to write, the loss of thirty pounds from my frame, a Christmas pageant, and the death of my dearly beloved grandmother.

Not that you especially love reading a “Christmas letter” from this silly blogger (if you’re still here), but I write this for posterity’s sake and to see what I  checked on my goal’s list.  To reflect is to learn, gain, and appreciate new understandings of life.  The getting of wisdom.  Hence, my life’s motto:  (Proverbs 4:7) Wisdom is the principle thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.  The Living Bible says, Determination to be wise is the first step toward becoming wise!  And with your wisdom, develop common sense and good judgment.

Well, friends, I have a long row to hoe!  I am enrolled in 10 hours this semester.  Should be interesting.  Talk to you soon.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Deborah Pucci / Jan 10 2012 3:43 PM

    Sounds like it was a pretty good year for you and your family except for the passing of your grandmother. ((HUGS)) You are amazing with all that you are doing.

  2. Vickie / Jan 10 2012 3:41 PM

    Oh yeah, would you and Rick shake a leg on that house so’s I can come see it???

  3. Vickie / Jan 10 2012 3:41 PM

    My, alot’s happened in 2012. I’m sure I’d find the same if I did a post-review, too. Yep, with the wedding last year, moving, Tony quitting his job, yep – alot’s happened alright!

    Well, the holidays are about over, and us girls did not ever get together. We were all super-busy, I know. And we had family here and kids that I thought would never leave! haha!

    I hope 2012 is filled will good things and good memories and good leaps forward for you and your family. Hope school goes great (I know it will, you smarty-pants, you!) and that the Lord bless and keep each one of you safe and sound as you move about and make decisions about your lives.

    Love you, friend!

  4. Jeanette / Jan 10 2012 1:56 PM

    Congrats on the weight loss, Debbie. I got your note but am writing little dribs and drabs till I answer you. You have such beautiful children and I’m sure their hearts are just as beautiful.

Comments are closed.