Skip to content
December 14, 2011 / dcwisdom

Flu RX – Hanging Upside Down

Disclaimer:  I am not a doctor, and I do not recommend this treatment to anyone.  However, this crazy thing worked for me.  So, by now you know how nutty (or stupid) this double-nickel, college senior can be.

Again, I awoke with symptoms of the flu.  However, I have to tell you that I MUST RECOVER by this weekend to sing in the Christmas program, and I asked in my earlier post for suggestions  – ANYTHING – to help rid this pesky stuff.

Thanks, Deb (ladybugfromtexas.blogspot.com), for the Vicks Vapo-Rub suggestion.  Wouldn’t you know it:  my mom suggested the same treatment, so I fetched the jar and gave my chest, my nose, and my feet a good, greasy rub.  Slept like a baby the entire night with extra help from NyQuil.  Thanks, Deb.

Another friend suggested hanging upside down.  She bought one of those electrically operated beds that secures the feet and rotates the body to 180 degrees (straight up and down) with the head at floor level.  The closest I could get to that was hanging off my back deck, which the floor is about 4-5 feet off the ground, and the angle of the steps is 50 degrees, fairly steep.

Actually, I thought I’d sit on the rail, wrap my legs around the posts, and lean backwards, but I thought that once I lowered myself into that position, I might not get up and might fall and break my neck.  The steps were a better option.

For safety’s (ha) sake, I opened the front door (in case someone happened to come by, like Bobby, the UPS driver), pocketed my cell phone, grabbed my camera, and ordered Bella to follow me out and bark if I got into trouble.  Like anyone would hear her, bless her heart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I finally maneuvered into this position, it felt rather good.  I stretched my arms back and relaxed for a minute or so.  My friend says that hanging upside down is good for the lymphatic system and keeps things flowing.  Also, I read somewhere that bouncing on a mini-trampoline is good for the lymphs, too.  Who’da thunk?

 

 

 

 

 

See Bella on the lookout?  Such a loyal little dog!  See my mini-trampoline?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note the speck in the top of the tree.  It’s a turkey vulture.  He was waiting in case I kicked the bucket while upside down on the steps.  When I up-righted myself, I yelled to him, “Not today, buddy!”

So, I might try it again.  Felt pretty good.  I’m still open to suggestions.  I might go bounce in a while.  I’m not giving in to this stuff!

Peace and love.  Comfort and joy.

God bless you.  God bless Israel.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God help America.

 

8 Comments

  1. dcwisdom / Dec 15 2011 12:24 PM

    Vic, do you mean the black walnut worm treatment? Black walnut is really good for worms; hadn’t thought of that! bahahaha—

  2. Vickie / Dec 15 2011 12:00 AM

    Pappaw always said Vicks and duct tape – you should never be without those two things. I’m a big believer in Vicks. I keep a couple of jars around and my warm mist vaporiser, too. Those two items together will get you going again. Sorry you’re sick. Love the upside down pics. How ’bout a once-a-month wormer?

  3. LP / Dec 14 2011 6:19 PM

    You are so funny. I laughed out loud–especially at the upside down photos. And FYI, God is healing and mending relationships with son and family. 😉

  4. Jeanette / Dec 14 2011 6:00 PM

    Our family has used vicks (or the cheaper store brand) for generations and for about a year I was rubbing the edges of my nose with it (for cold and then for asthma symptoms). After using it in this way for so long I then read an article, written by a doctor, that stated we should never put vicks rub into the nose area because it can be absorbed (sp) into the spores of our lungs thus causing damage to our breathing. Hope that makes sense in spite of my bad grammar.

  5. Debbie / Dec 14 2011 5:09 PM

    I’m surprised your family leaves you alone! 😀

  6. Deborah Pucci / Dec 14 2011 2:54 PM

    That is so interesting, I just might have to try that sometime.
    I heard that Apple Cider vinegar helps with colds also!
    I went into my spam mail to look for a receipt from something I ordered thinking maybe it went into Spam. I found comments that are no-reply are going to Spam mail!!! Your comment was in there.

  7. Lois / Dec 14 2011 2:16 PM

    Oh my word, I could never hang upside down! I get dizzy laying flat! Seriously. I am a firm believer in Vics and yes, on the feet when you’re coughing!!! Feel better!

  8. debsladybugtexas / Dec 14 2011 12:50 PM

    so glad it helped….

Comments are closed.