Skip to content
December 13, 2011 / dcwisdom

HoHoHo…Second Semester Down!

HOORAY!  My second semester is over!  I know, I know.  Six hours about killed me, because I’m such a pansy.  Whoever knew I would love/dread school so much!  Merry Christmas!

 

*coughcoughcough*

Sorry…After Rick’s and my fabulous rendezvous Friday night in Jefferson, I awoke Saturday with a sore throat.  Ugh… Here’s my list of organic treatments for colds and flu:  chicken soup (either homemade or Campbell’s Chicken Noodle – and lots of it), Emer-Gen-C (and lots of it),  Advil Cold and Sinus (non-organic and lots of it), NyQuil (non-organic and lots of it), and Echinacea, and whatever else might help, like my famous Chinese water torture treatment  (waterboarding as Rick calls it).

And speaking of an organic treatment that works, read this:  Debbie’s Famous Chinese Water Torture Treatment – If you’re all stopped up in the head, fill an 8 oz. cup with very warm water (not hot), add 1 teaspoon (not tablespoon) of salt and ONE DROP of tea tree oil.  Just one drop.  If two drops fall in the cup, start over.  Stir water, salt, and tea tree oil together.  Grab a towel.  Go outside.  Sit in a chair where you can lean your head waaaaaaay back, or bend backwards over the deck rail and squirt a good amount of water with a turkey baster (!)  🙂  up one nostril.  Rotate your body over to empty the water out of your head and blow GENTLY.  Use the towel!  Repeat in other nostril.  Repeat treatment until all mucus is blown GENTLY out of your head.  It works!   And there’s no related pain with this treatment.  Even if you swallow some water, you won’t die.

Felt horrible Sunday.  However, since I had a major paper due yesterday and a power point to present last night (Monday), I dragged my body out of bed Monday morning and spent from 10 a.m. til 2:30 in the university’s computer lab (coughcoughcoughing).   Don’t worry.  I swallowed plenty of meds and kept my bandana hanky near so as not to cough everywhere, and I even wiped the computer down when I left.  I only hope the paper I submitted made sense since my head and body were drugged all day!  By power point presentation time, I felt loopy, but I gave my part of the presentation, said my thank yous, good-byes, and Merry Christmases, and drove home.  That was probably the closest thing to an out-of-body experience I’ve had.

Had a good sleep until almost noon today, and now I’m hungry for a chili dog.  I suppose that’s a good sign.  I’m singing in our Christmas program this weekend. Any suggestions for getting rid of this junk?

Just heard a flock of Canadian geese fly over.   The flocks stop at the spring-fed pond down the hill on their migration route, and they fly extremely low over the trailer.  They’re noisy things.  Have you ever wondered why they honk?  Since they fly in V-formation, the dudes in the back of the V’s honk constantly to encourage the ones in the front.  Did you know that the young and strong ones (mostly) lead the flock?  The old ones stay in the back of the bus, honking.  FYI.

Peace and love!  Comfort and joy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Deborah Pucci / Dec 15 2011 1:40 PM

    I heard that Apple Cider Vinegar helps!! Hope you can sing this weekend.
    Way to go on finishing your semester. Love the picture of your stockings.
    I love when geese fly over, it doesn’t happen very often here. Fell better soon.

  2. tanna / Dec 13 2011 9:12 PM

    Oh, Debbie… Evan and I have that crud, too!! YUK! About the only good thing I can say is that we should all be well by Christmas!! (hopefully sooner!!)

    Woo hoo for another finished semester!! And, it IS a wonderful love/hate relationship, isn’t it? 😉 blessings ~ Tanna

  3. debsladybugtexas / Dec 13 2011 6:55 PM

    congratualtions…so proud of you…hope you feel better soon….I use Vicks vapor rub…on my chest..and on my feet at night with socks…really helps the coughing…also good for tired feet…makes them feel good…

Comments are closed.