Skip to content
December 10, 2011 / dcwisdom

My Favorite Christmas Place

Merry Christmas, Y’all!  Hey, I’m going to Jefferson!

Tonight, Rick and I had a secret rendezvous in Jefferson (TX).  We kept it secret, because everyone we know wants to go to Jefferson at Christmas for the Christmas Candlelight Tour, and we didn’t want to take our entourage.  (Sorry, entourage, if you’re reading this and didn’t get invited.  Not that we’re important enough to have an entourage, mind you.  Sometimes the entourage gets in the way of having a quiet, romantic, candlelit evening…if you know what I mean.)  For years, I have travelled back and forth to Jefferson and have been in many historical homes.  For years, I tried to get Rick to go with me.  I knew that he would love the history, architecture, and furnishings of the Victorian era; Rick’s a detail man in every sense of the word – an analyzer and a romantic.  Until he (eventually) worked in Jefferson, he had no clue of the town’s significance.  Now, he’s hooked.  Maybe we would live in Jefferson, if I had my druthers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Culberson House Bed and Breakfast in Jefferson dazzles the eye!  The beautiful lady housed Texas Governor Charles Culberson’s family while Culberson served as governor in the 1890’s and then the US senate in the early 20th century.  The people in the picture are not the Culbersons, but tour guides.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The entire kitchen exposed handmade bricks covering each wall.  I asked Rick if we could install handmade bricks in my kitchen, and he said the bricks would cost as much as the house since the bricks are antiques.  I don’t know.  Maybe I could make them myself.  Hmmm…a bag of concrete mix, tints, molds…maybe not…I wonder:  Whose hands made these bricks?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Elevator Townhouse (above) sits in the business district of Jefferson; the house was formerly a business, so the building is tall and long.  The owner of the home is an artist – a painter, a potter, and an origami-st.  She folded white, paper cranes to decorate a “feather” tree.  (In case you’re wondering about “origami-st,” my spell check presented the spelling of the word.  Origami is the Japanese traditional paper craft.)  Regardless, I think this is the only building in town with a working freight elevator in the very center of the building.  The owner raised the elevator temporarily to the second floor and uses it as a sitting area.

 

 

 

 

 

Interesting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Where in Jefferson is this wall?

We met a really great couple from Arlington.  They kept following us around town (or maybe we followed them, I’m not sure), and at the fourth and last house, we met again.   Jan and Bob followed us into the line at the Elevator Townhouse, and we joked about it.  When we left the tour, I hollered to Jan, “Hey, we’re going to the Hamburger Store now.  Merry Christmas!”  Guess what?  Yep, they followed us there, too, and we ate together and became new friends.  My daddy always said, “Every stranger is a potential friend.”   My only regret is that I didn’t get their picture.

So, I decided to do something different this Christmas, inspired by a display I saw this week.  Normally, I use lighted houses on my buffet, but after 20 years of that display, I’m rather tired of them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s a candy bar!  Dishes and dishes of candy!  My grandchildren will love me!  Chocolate balls, lemon drops, peppermint sticks, Life Savers, gum drops, orange slices, suckers, Hershey Kisses…oh, the candy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh, what fun!  It doesn’t take much to entertain me, does it?  😉

I wish you many Christmas blessings.  Remember:  Jesus is the reason for the season.  Thank you, Father, for sending your son, Immanuel, for all mankind.  “For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”  John 3:16

Peace and love, comfort and joy.

9 Comments

  1. Mary / Dec 14 2011 8:22 PM

    I love Jefferson Texas, My GGGG Uncles son David Culberson built the Culberson House.

  2. Mark E. Muir / Dec 12 2011 2:44 PM

    Hello, Debbie Wisdom. I’m Mark E. Muir, a correspondent for Gerontology Research Group (GRG). First, sorry for contacting you through this way – I would have used e-mail rather than a blog reply. 🙂

    Second, GRG tracks and validates supercentenarians all over the world. Supercentenarians are people who have reached the age of 110+ years old. For a list of oldest living validated supercentenarians around the world, it can be found here: http://www.grg.org/Adams/E.HTM.

    I have been aware of your maternal grandmother since she celebrated her 110th birthday earlier in February 2011. In fact, she is listed as a pending case here (http://www.grg.org/Adams/EE5.HTM) and my name is listed there.

    We would like to validate her case with the help of the family. My contact information can be found here: http://www.grg.org/correspondents.html. I myself am a deaf person so contacting me by e-mail would be preferred.

    NOTE: I came across your blog through your oldest daughter’s blog after finding your grandmother’s name there as well as this old link where your grandmother was interviewed by a blogger back in 2008: http://laurenoakley.blogspot.com/2008/03/diversity-at-its-best.html. (I found myself reading quite a bit of your blog as well as your daughter’s blog — then I realized “that’s not what I’m here for — at least I can confirm who they are! 🙂 “)

    Please feel free to contact me. Thanks!

    * MEM
    Mark E. Muir
    Gerontology Research Group, United States

  3. Lois / Dec 12 2011 1:24 PM

    Love the pictures! And a candy bar sounds so good!

  4. tanna / Dec 10 2011 6:49 PM

    It has been years since I have done the Christmas Tour in Jefferson! Oh, how I do love it though. So glad you shared your photos! Evan and my first date was in Jefferson, so it holds a very special place in my heart. 😉 blessings to you and yours, Debbie! tanna

  5. Deborah Pucci / Dec 10 2011 10:21 AM

    Now that looks like so much fun. Everything is so beautiful.
    Years ago we did a fireplace in a real half brick, I bet you could find that for your kitchen. I love that kitchen wall you showed, it’s perfect! We had some old elevators in Paris, they are so cool. How awesome to make new friends.
    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  6. debsladybugtexas / Dec 10 2011 7:07 AM

    looks like a fun time…thank you for sharing with us….Love hearing Merry Christmas….not happy holidays..that is my pet peeve….

  7. LP / Dec 10 2011 7:05 AM

    Thanks for sharing! I, too, enjoy Jefferson. In fact, Jenny got married there.

  8. Debbie / Dec 10 2011 7:01 AM

    How I would have loved to visit Jefferson at Christmas time! I love it anytime but you always take good pictures! It’s funny how our husbands will do things at this stage they never did before. We drove to the city yesterday to do some mall shopping, something he never used to do and I have come to hate to do. And I can only imagine what people were thinking as he followed me out exclaiming, “come on honey, we just got here and you’ve barely bought anything!” I love your candy jars!
    Sometimes I don’t know him!

  9. dcwisdom / Dec 10 2011 1:26 AM

    I apologize for all the skips in the post. I don’t know what happened.

Comments are closed.