Skip to content
October 4, 2011 / dcwisdom

78-Year-Old Completes the Appalachian Trail

My good friend, Max Taylor, can strike hiking the Appalachian Trail from his bucket list.  On September 25, 2011, the 78-year-old completed the hike near Wingdale, New York, logging in 2,179 miles since beginning his personal journey in 1991.

I am so incredibly proud of him!  When I started writing this blog, I featured Max here.  He’s such an incredible man, valiant soldier, and true-blue, patriotic American.  This was his message to me when he returned home:

After 21 years of trying to finish the Appalachian Trail, I finally finished the 2,179 mile trail at age 78.

The two women are from Ireland. They agreed to be my two bookends and they do improve the picture of me when I finished the Appalachian Trail at NY Hwy 22 near Wingdale, NY on 25Sep11.

I believe finishing the trail was tougher than Army Ranger School. There was a lot of wear and tear. I came back home on two occasions due to injuries and once due to getting a MRSA Infection which almost killed me in 2010.

This year I had to quit the trail on June 22nd due to my wife’s cancer and her death on 10Jul11. I returned to the trail to finish the last 150 miles. Mine is a story of persistence. I hung in there because I really wanted to finish what I started back in 1991.

I hope you like the pictures. They are not very pretty but you can see the strain in my face, plus the pride of finishing the 2,179 mile hike. 

Max Taylor (trail name is captmax)

I wish that every person could know a Max Taylor.  Talk about a life well lived!  God bless you, Max.  You have my total admiration and respect forever.

Peace and love.

4 Comments

  1. debsladybugtexas / Oct 5 2011 6:55 AM

    that is awesome….hubby and I went hiking on Sunday and were surprised to see how many 70 year olds were on the trails…so awesome…

  2. Lois Christensen / Oct 5 2011 6:36 AM

    Wow! What an encouraging story to read! Thanks for sharing! Enjoy your day!

  3. tanna / Oct 5 2011 6:19 AM

    I salute Max Taylor!! Amazing. I have recently been talking to some of my friends about hiking the Trail. It was on my ‘list’ when I was younger… Now, I’m sure I don’t have to cross it off as undoable. Max is an inspiration!! Thank you so much for sharing his story, Debbie. blessings ~ Tanna

  4. Vickie / Oct 4 2011 11:20 PM

    This is a neat story of this man who is a Man among Men. What character, what pride, what determination. This is the kind of man that we need more of! I think most of us have a man like this in our lives – one that we can measure all others by! I’m glad you showed us this story, Deb.

    It was so good to talk to you the other night! Thank you so much for calling! It was good to catch up a little. Hope we CAN get together during the holidlays! Hugs!

Comments are closed.