Skip to content
September 21, 2011 / dcwisdom

If you love me…

Hello, out there!

My sister called me this afternoon.  She accused me of being neglectful of her, so she was reading my blog to see what I’ve been doing.  Poor thing.  She knows I’ll write here before I’ll call.  I’m sorry, dear one.

I hate to whine, so I’ll state matter-of-factually, these six hours are kicking my derriere!  I thought I knew, somewhat, of how to write above the high school level, but this class is s-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g  my mind.  I’ll be ok, but it’s nice to come here and think and type and not worry about structure and content and thesis and argument and ethos…

Something sweet happened after class on Monday.  A cute boy in my class approached me and said, “Hi.  I’m Jason from English class.  Remember me?”  I was a little surprised, but I replied to him.  He went on, “Well, the reason that I stopped you is that I need a date.  Our frat is having our moms come to dinner Saturday night, and my mom lives in Ohio.  Do you think you could come with me?”   Aw, shoot!  I hated to turn him down, but I did.  Can’t do a weekend.  I thought that was sweet.  Made me smile.  Plus, I feel sorry for these kids who live so far from home.

THE SUBJECT FOR THE NIGHT  (Look out!  Here it comes!)

You know I listen to and watch the news.  Perhaps some of you heard this statement made by our illustrious leader to UNC students:  “If you love me, you’ll help me pass this bill!”   *gag*

  • My first thought was, “How sophomoric can the man be?!?”  What a conditional and emotional plea!  He begged for votes…for what?  He doesn’t even possess a bill to present to Congress.  He might have some idea that hasn’t been penned or developed, but he has nothing in his hands.  And he’s pleading with a volatile group of young adults to follow him.
  • “Just follow me!  I’ll lead the way!”  Where?  The college kids don’t have a clue that they are already obligated to pay more taxes than ever in this nation’s history.   They have no clue about the charm and charisma of a calculated man.
  • He sounds like a high school boy begging his date for you-know-what!  “You’ll do this if you love me!”  I think we have a mentally under-developed teenager on our hands who we call our president.   No one should trust an if-you-love-me guy.
  • How did this happen?  How did people of intelligence and common sense allow a sinister to sit in the country’s most prominent chair next to the red button?  Remember, after rendering more taxes on the American people (Thanks alot, Congress!), he laughed away his comments about the “shovel-ready jobs.”
  • Has he anything that can stand alone on its merits?  It has yet to be proven.  This man offers us nothing.

Remember the story of the pied piper?   We would be terribly smart to warn our children!  Behind his beautiful, white smile is the Pied Piper all over again.

Ok.  That was a beat down.  Have you clicked away yet?  Sorry.  That has been in my noggin for a week.  I’ll try to bring something lighter to the table next post.

FYI:  This last week, the Bear Creek fire in Cass County was extinguished.  Thank God!  The fire was the largest fire in the nation and in Texas’ history burning over 40,000 acres and destroyed 66 structures.  It was reported that the smoke plume extended south all the way to the Gulf.  That distance is about six driving hours away from Cass County.  God bless the many firefighters who came to help us.  Thank you for all your prayers.

I’m outta here!  Peace and love!

7 Comments

  1. Sue / Sep 24 2011 1:56 PM

    Love the post. Got to smile with your “almost date” and then got to stand on my soap box, start waving and shout, Bravo! Bravo, Debbie! I agree 100%.

  2. Lois Christensen / Sep 23 2011 9:37 AM

    I found you. I’m trying to get back into blogging and lost your link for some strange reason. I couldn’t agree more with what the president said! And yes, he did sound like that teenage boy begging his girlfriend. Good one!

  3. Deborah Pucci / Sep 22 2011 4:04 PM

    To bad you couldn’t go with him, that was just so sweet of him to ask you.

  4. tanna / Sep 22 2011 1:59 PM

    Go, Debbie!! And, I love the date story!! How sweet. I hate you couldn’t go with him. Bless his heart. Once you have babies, you feel for them all!

    blessings ~ tanna

  5. Vickie / Sep 22 2011 10:02 AM

    Howdy-do this mornin’! I knew you’ve been swamped with class, so I haven’t bugged you. You should be honored that Mr. Cutie asked you to be his “mom” for the evening! How funny!!! Never thought you’d get an invite to a frat-house party at this late date, didja! haha!

    Yes, I heard that comment about “if you love me” – totally assinine statement if you ask me. Yes, he’s beggin’ – he’s gotten so low in the ratings (and he knows it even tho he’s still showing all his bravado) I think that slipped out from his subconscience. I’ll bet he’s getting hives from stress AND I’ll bet he could’ve bitten his own tongue off after he heard that come out of his own mouth – hey that might not be such a bad idea… hmmmm…

  6. debsladybugtexas / Sep 22 2011 6:58 AM

    oh I agree with you totally…he’s like a frat boy…not a leader….people need to open their eyes…this pied piper is leading us off a cliff…

  7. Mary / Sep 22 2011 3:44 AM

    I love it when you are on your soapbox!

    And I almost thought the student was trying to pick you up 😀

Comments are closed.