Skip to content
September 15, 2011 / dcwisdom

Blessing in Tragedy and My Humble Opinion of Rick Perry

I stopped for gas this evening, grabbed a chicken dinner for Kid #3 Jeremiah, and when I turned to leave the parking lot, I noticed a big yellow fire truck getting gasoline.  Hmmm…unusual color.  The only color of fire trucks in this area is red.  In fact, all I’ve ever seen are red fire trucks.  Milling around the truck were several really dirty men, dirty from head to toe, all young, cute, and laughing with one other.  So, here I go…  hehe

I pulled over to the truck and called out, “Hey, where are y’all from?”  (Now, please don’t go telling my English teacher or my mother that’s what I said!  Because, nobody, BUT NOBODY, here in NE Texas ends a sentence with a preposition!)  They smiled real big and said, “From the great state of Colorado, ma’am!”  I just almost jumped out and hugged and kissed them all, smokey-dirt, BO, and all!  I probably should have.  I almost cried.  God bless these guys!  “We like to work!” one said.  He told me the group’s been working at the Bear Creek fire, which has consumed over 40,000 acres.  He said they’ve gone from house to house, moving anything flammable to a safer place, trying to save homes.  But, we lost some, he said.  I told him, “Yes, but we know you’re working hard and helping us.  Thank you so much.  Thank you.  God bless you!”  These guys are blessings in our tragedy.

Remember those times in your life when your heart would gush with gratitude?  You were so touched and moved you thought your heart would burst?  Yep.  Because even in tragedy, you can see the goodness of God.

Hello, Redneck!  He looks to be the only male in the bunch.  Aren’t they cute?  I’ve never seen so many hummingbirds at the trough at once, slurping peacefully, if only for a second.

My good blogging friend, Mary at Neat & Tidy, from South Carolina asked me my opinion about my governor, Rick Perry, entering the Republican presidential race.  Not that my opinion matters at all, but it’s mine.

Listen, Texas has had her share of problems for the last few years.  Texas swelled in population by 4.3 million people in the last decade.  That’s a tremendous increase of 20.6% (figures found at http://www.txdot.gov/drivenbytexans).  Along with the sudden increase in population from Katrina victims, illegals, and out-of-state job hunters, all towing their families, there came huge increases in problems in every entity of city and state governments.  Many of these people came and joined the welfare rolls and birthed border babies, and are working independently of our taxing system.  In other words, many of these millions who are new to Texas are not paying into the system to keep our roads repaired, our schools staffed, our healthcare system balanced.  Our jail and prison populations are at capacity.  We have more users than contributors.  This is much the situation in which Rick Perry has found himself in the midst.  I hear many critical statements by Texas teachers, and rightly so.  However, I hear similar comments from our local librarian and from employees at the highway department.  It seems no budgetary line item in Texas didn’t feel the slice of the budget knife.  Perry and our state congress have hard jobs.  Talk about a state in change…

Rick Perry is a fine man and has a deep faith in God.   That’s always important in my book.  There has been no hint of scandal or impropriety in his administration of which I’m aware.  If for no other reason, I’d vote for him for being an Eagle Scout.  I have a great respect for the Boy Scout organization and for those who have climbed the ranks in that great organization.  He’s an Aggie *whoop* who pulled a C average.  C-guys know how to have a good time.  (And I know this only because I was a C girl!)  He was a pilot in the Air Force.  He has other in-between stuff in this space ______, but he was most recently (previous to his governorship) a cotton farmer with his father.  There’s a fairly good bio of him in Wikipedia.

Although he has made unpopular, hard, and necessary decisions for Texas, he has remained a steady leader; he hasn’t been a perfect leader (who is?), but he has plenty of leadership experience.  He’s not a whiner or a pouter.  He’s a man who knows how to lead, how to lose gracefully, and can still hold his head high at the end of the day.

I’m trying to remain open about the candidates.  There are some really good people in the ranks, and any one of them would be better than Mr. Imposterama.  We’ll see how Rick Perry performs in the months ahead.  I encourage you to watch and read and/or become involved somehow in the process.  So, Mary, there you have it.  🙂

COLLEGE UPDATE:  Even though I’m only taking six semester hours, it feels like a full load, because I’m such a pansy.  I’m still in mental transition, but I’m loving it.  I should get a final degree plan in the next few weeks.  I talked with my adviser today, and graduation might be closer than I thought.  Cross my fingers…

I’ll try to visit with you soon.  I miss you, my lovely blogland friends.  XOXO

Take care out there.  Please continue to pray for rain for us.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

 

9 Comments

  1. Linda / Sep 17 2011 6:25 PM

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts…I hopped over here from Mary’s site. We have your state in our thoughts and prayers…drought, heat and fire is a terrible combination. It doesn’t seem like that long ago that our whole area was on fire here…so much loss and so many still haven’t finished re-building their homes! I know what you mean about the fire fighters…I remember them here,,,from all over…we made cookies and brought them up to the Walmart parking lot where they were camped out…also thanks for your thoughts on Gov. Perry…whoever is elected has a hard road ahead of them!

  2. Tara / Sep 17 2011 2:56 PM

    Another great post my friend! The pics are awesome. Love to watch the hummers. They are amazing.
    So great to know there are still some great people left out there that will lend a hand.
    Proud of you and your college going self!
    Hugs,
    tara
    Pray for our schools. Budget cuts are making everyone a tad nervous! Trying not to worry and praise HIM anyway!

  3. Stacey at Living by Faith / Sep 17 2011 10:40 AM

    I am so glad you stopped and talked to those guys. What a great story!
    You summed it up well about the rapid growth of our state. As a former teacher with many teacher friends, I know the past few years have been very tough on the public education system. Many complain of the budget cuts, which have been felt significantly in our area. I don’t think these were taken lightly on the state level. Tough decisions had to be made across the board for many areas of service.

  4. Deborah Pucci / Sep 15 2011 7:29 PM

    That was so sweet of you to go and hug them.
    The hummingbirds are wonderful. Great shots!!

  5. Vickie / Sep 15 2011 9:25 AM

    Oh yes, and I like your take on Rick Perry, too. I’ve had several people ask me – we even had a guy ask us about him when we were in California. He’s got my vote…

  6. Vickie / Sep 15 2011 9:23 AM

    Hey sister-friend (I like that)! Loved this post. I know what you mean about the fire-fighters. We’ve still got good caring people in this country that would give their life to save someone else. These boys (and some women) are working so hard. We’ve got some wives driving some of the volunteer fire trucks over here where I’m at, and the fellas are fightin’ the fires. Some of our public servants are grossly underpaid for what they are called upon to do. I’m so thankful for them, too, and I, too, just wanna go up and hug their necks when I see ’em working so hard. Don’t know what we’d do without ’em – guess we’d just stand there and watchings burn.

    Sweet little hummingbirds. See, if the hummers can get along, then why can’t we? Love that little guy stickin’ his head up to look atcha!

    I’m proud of you, friend – you’re going to do great in school!

  7. debsladybugtexas / Sep 15 2011 6:25 AM

    isn’t it great how so many have pitched in with the fires….Texas is a great state….I like Rick Perry…I don’t know if he will be our canidate…but like you said…he seems to be a straight shooter…and doesn’t blow with the wind…like the one that is in charge now….so proud of you for going back to school that is just awesome

  8. tanna / Sep 15 2011 5:55 AM

    Well said, Debbie. Well said. Texas feels like a lifeboat that is getting overloaded and having issues all our own, but I know we will STILL come out on top.

    The Colorado guys, made me bawl like a baby. YES, I know about the kind of gratitude that makes your heart want to burst! Amazing. Just gotta love that kind of people. blessings ~ tanna

  9. Mary / Sep 15 2011 4:16 AM

    Thanks so very much!! I agree with you that a candidate’s faith is first in my book. It’s difficult to mix politics with friendships; but like I said, I value your opinion. There are three Republican candidates that I am interested in, and Mr. Perry is one of those three. Being able to get your perspective since you have lived under his administration puts a better spin on what I will hear on the tv.

Comments are closed.