Skip to content
September 11, 2011 / dcwisdom

Northeast Texas Fires and 9/11

http://www.inciweb.org/incident/2624/

Hi, Friends!  The above web link is to information about the 40,000+ acre fire here in the NE corner of Texas, if you’re interested.

If you read my blog a few weeks ago, I wrote about a small fire here on Mom’s property which burned two acres.  That was scary enough!  I can’t even imagine volunteering to stay in the midst of a burning forest!  My friend Martha lives in the Bear Creek area that’s currently burning and reported on Facebook that three young men, her two grandsons and a nephew, kept Martha’s house from burning, and she said it was sooooo hot!  What bravery!  (Some of us might call it idiocy!)  While the forest fire around them raged, the family faithfully and bravely stayed and fought the heat and the fire away from Martha’s house, although her outbuildings burned.  God bless those young men.

And God bless the many professional firefighters who have come from near and far to help our area.  Many units from the surrounding states and the Northwest US are here working in conjunction with the Texas Forestry Service.   Thank you, men and women from Oregon, Washington, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and other states, for your firefighting service to our area.  Thank you for sacrificing your time with your families and your lives to help us.  God bless you.  I am absolutely overwhelmed with emotion just thinking about how Americans will unify for a common cause and in times of trouble.

Oh, and Snyder, Texas, had three earthquakes today, minor, but, I’m sure, unsettling.  I was researching this information and found that Snyder has had several minor (4.4 magnitude and less) in the last three years or so, some say resulting from drilling activity.   Does anyone suspect anything here?  Is there a’rumblin’ in the heavens?

Well, friends, I have more news, but time prevents me from posting more.  Gotta hit the books…again…I’m in for six hours this semester.  I have pretty exciting classes (in my opinion) – an advanced expository writing class and a community leadership class.  Keeps me busy.

Updating the renovation house status, Rick and I had to reroute a little plumbing *sigh – and we thought we were finished with the plumbing – sigh* to make room for additional AC duct work into our addition.  This Saturday, we should be able to get the duct work run and wrapped.

I’ll leave you now with the below stats and to watch a little Dallas Cowboy football.  I might have to postpone the books!  Dallas is looking pretty good about now.  Please, y’all be safe.  God bless you!  Peace and love.

Current Situation

Size 40,388 acres
Percent Contained 80%
Estimated Containment Date Wednesday September 14th, 2011 approx. 12:00 AM
Fuels Involved 9 Hardwood Litter Fuels are most accurately described by TU3 fuel model, moderate load humid climate timber grass shrub. Oak and loblolly pine plantations with heavy understory of scrub oak and deciduous brush on the Bear Creak Fire.
Fire Behavior smoldering and creeping within interior islands with single and group tree torching.
Significant Events 70 people remain evacuated in Red Cross shelter in Jefferson. Another shelter will be set up near the Bear Creek Fire area. Structures continue to be lost daily. Structure assessment teams have been ordered.
3 Comments

  1. Mary / Sep 13 2011 4:11 PM

    Thanks for the update; I’ve been wondering how you and your place are doing. Just doesn’t seem fair with all the rain on this side of the country and you guys needing it so badly.

    I’d be interested in hearing what you have to say about your governor running for president. I value your opinion.

  2. Deborah Pucci / Sep 12 2011 4:54 PM

    The fires are terrible, I feel so bad for everyone. Keeping them in my prayers. What’s with the earthquakes? They have happened in some strange places lately.

  3. tanna / Sep 12 2011 10:15 AM

    We so desperately need enough rain to turn this around. My heart goes out to everyone. blessings ~ tanna

Comments are closed.