Skip to content
September 1, 2011 / dcwisdom

Drumroll! The results are in!

Hey, my good friends and brother-in-law Tim who says he reads my blog!  Hi, Tim!

You remember the class I took spring semester where I wrote…and wrote…and wrote.  *cross-eyed*  I wrote 18 (3-5 pages) competency statements plus one non-collegiate essay.  By brain, my June was mush!

The BAAS (Bachelor of Arts and Applied Science) program is for people like me who quit school years ago and are returning to check off a bucket list item, start a new career, or try to prolong going senile.  (I’ll do anything to keep from going senile!)  It’s a welcome-back-to-college-class of sorts.  The purpose is to train the brain to think collegiate (again) and write about the years of work experience which can translate into college credits toward getting that bachelor’s diploma.  Brilliant program!

I transferred into the program with 95 semester hours which all transferred from the 1970’s and ’80’s.  Believe it or not!  I received an associate degree in 1983 in Respiratory Care, worked a while, and later went to work in the field of business management with some executive sector experience.  (And that doesn’t count the 23 years of teaching my children at home.)  My experiences were evaluated by field professionals, and I was awarded….        *DRUMROLL*

30 COLLEGE SEMESTER HOURS!

I received 21 hours in occupational management and 9 hours in communication and leadership.  I am pretty dern excited!!!

And you’ve journeyed with me.  I appreciate all the encouragement you’ve given me in this process.  Thank you.  I’m not sure now what my transcript looks like; I’ll have the finalized version in two or three weeks, and, hopefully, I won’t lack much.  I hoping for less than 20 hours.  I’ll let you know.

Mom, a friend, and I are going to see “The Help” later this afternoon.  I’ve heard it’s good.  Afterwards, we’ll slip over to Starbucks or Books-A-Million.  A little self-reward for the award and all the hard work for this here senior-senior college girl!  😉

Oh…P.S.  That dance team tryout is at 5 today.  Wish me luck.  *harhar*

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America!

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Mary / Sep 3 2011 6:33 AM

    I am thrilled to read this post! Congratulations and best wishes for what comes next. Keep us posted!

  2. Layne Perkins / Sep 2 2011 8:49 AM

    Awesome! What a blessing!
    I’m in Mobile with my parents for the third time since July. Daddy is having kidney issues and lots of Dr visits and tests. I have to be his ears or he won’t know what the doc says.

  3. Deborah Pucci / Sep 1 2011 12:03 PM

    Congratulations! That is wonderful news. So happy for you.
    Enjoy your movie today, it is a great movie!

  4. debsladybugtexas / Sep 1 2011 11:29 AM

    way to go girl….life experience is sometimes worth more than studying from a book…I loved the movie The Help…now I want to read the book to compare…

Comments are closed.