Skip to content
July 29, 2011 / dcwisdom

If it’s garbage, throw it out!

I was emptying the trash around the house yesterday, and I came across a mountain of it in Mary’s room.  Seriously.  A mountain.  Personally, I can never stand to see an overflowing trash can, just knowing what’s in it.  And as I couldn’t help myself, I noticed several shopping bags.  I knew that she been shopping — again —  that’s her hobby, I think — and watched her bring in stuff.  As far myself, I have never been a big “me” shopper, mostly because my available funds always went to buy for the kids or to stock the pantry.   A few years back, our family went on vacation with another family, and the other fellow made a comment like this:  Well, your biggest cost will be the gasoline to get there…  Rick corrected him on that; our biggest expense when traveling is always food.

Anyway, Mary’s a big “me” shopper – food, clothes, shoes, books, makeup, jewelry — your typical teenage girl.  She had best enjoy it while she can.  Real life comes all too soon.  As I was emptying her trash, I pulled out bag after bag.  So, let’s see where Mary shopped this week:

Let’s see – there’s Wal-Mart, rue21, Target, Books-A-Million, Ulta, etc!, Pier 1 Imports, Academy.  The picture’s fuzzy, but there you have it.

And speaking of garbage, I keep my ear open about what’s going on in Washington.  In my opinion, if all the elected officials really cared about our nation, they would come together and write a budget proposal that would help America pull out of this monstrous, generational debt and cut some corners like we average citizens are doing.  It’s just like a credit card:  You can’t get out of debt by raising the limit and continuing to charge against it.  How ridiculous is that!  Looks to me like some folks up there want to be re-elected and are buying future votes to stay in power instead of working for the common good of the nation.  Their easy buttons are money and power.  Next election, we gotta throw out the trash!

I was reading my Bible this morning and came across psalm David wrote which I think is àpropos for what is happening in our nation’s capitol.  It’s from The Message/Remix, chapter 58:

Is this any way to run a country?  Is there an honest politician in the house?  Behind the scenes you brew cauldrons of evil, behind closed doors you make deals with demons.

The wicked crawl from the wrong side of the cradle; their first words out of the womb are lies.  Poison, lethal rattlesnake poison, drips from their forked tongues — Deaf to threats, deaf to charm, decades of wax built up in their ears.

God, smash their teeth to bits, leave them toothless tigers.  Let their lives be buckets of water spilled, all that’s left, a damp stain in the sand.  Let them be trampled grass worn smooth by traffic.  Let them dissolve into snail slime, be a miscarried fetus that never sees sunlight. 

Before what they cook up is half-done, God, throw it out with the garbage!

David must have had a no-good, terrible, bad day.  He was apparently sick of politics!  Me, too, David!

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.   God help America.

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Comments

  1. Deborah Pucci / Jul 31 2011 4:15 PM

    I’m not up on all the crap going on in Washington. It usually makes me sick!
    Anyway I am sure you recycled those bags, right?

  2. Deborah Pucci / Jul 31 2011 4:00 PM

    Funny how I can’t always comment on your posts. I was just trying to comment on your ET post and this box for my comments doesn’t come up.
    I love the Brown Betty fountain and I am impressed on all the work you are doing on your house. Sorry about the rain, it would have been nice if didn’t pick your house out while you were painting!

  3. Mary / Jul 31 2011 4:59 AM

    Excellent, excellent, excellent!

    And here’s a scripture with Obama’s name on it – “Let his days be few; let another take his office.” Psalm 109:8 NAS

  4. Anita / Jul 30 2011 7:55 PM

    To bad it only took two years for a new president to get this country of our in this mess all by himself. I wish they would get rid of all the republicans and all the democrats and get something for all the people. Very tired of the fighting amoung them. We are a honest hard working family and this crap just wears me to my bones. Thank you

    • dcwisdom / Jul 31 2011 12:24 AM

      Me, too, Anita. Thanks for commenting.

  5. tanna / Jul 30 2011 7:19 AM

    I’m with you and David!!

    Mary is stimulating the economy all on her own. hee hee!

    blessings ~ tanna

  6. Diana Ferguson / Jul 29 2011 1:21 PM

    Totally enjoyed the post–from the shopping bags to our politicians!

  7. debsladybugtexas / Jul 29 2011 1:13 PM

    oh you hit the nail right on the head their Debbie….we need to empty the trash in washington….I’m tired of them trying to make the tea party folks look like fools….or right wing conspiritus….(spelling)….they need to listen to the people….the real people…not the fake ones they make up in their heads and quote….okay I’m off the soap box….

Comments are closed.