Skip to content
July 13, 2011 / dcwisdom

Who’s Your Favorite?

All moms know this:  When a mom brags on her blog about one certain kid, all the others get whiney.  Gosh, Mom, you talk about him all the time.   You know, it’s kind of like having four-year-olds again.  Or ten-year-olds.  Or eighteen-year-olds.  It never ends.

My kids have asked me at different times in their lives Mom, who’s your favorite kid?  And no matter who asked, I answered, “You are!”  My mother tells us her favorite is whoever she’s with at the moment.  That’s a good answer.  Keeps her out of trouble.  But, I know that I am.  Just sayin’.

My favorite kid was not acknowledged this spring, I don’t think.  I really can’t remember.  That’s why I’m going back to college, so I can remember.  But, my lastest little birdie finished high school, so I have to share some of her big accomplishment with you, my friends.

The Girl in Pink

I could not have been more proud and excited for her!   Bless her heart.  She and I struggled through the years with math and writing and each other, but we dragged ourselves across the finish line.  Sometimes, I dragged her, or she dragged me.  No difference.  So, I have some encouragement to give those of you who are in the battle of strong wills and who has a child less than motivated to finish school.  As Dr. James Dobson so aptly puts it:  “Just get them through it.”   Yes, even home schoolers fight to finish well or, in our case, finish.  We marked the finish line in pink.

Of course, the cell phone is always clutched tightly in the hand.  Her grandmothers were very proud of her.  Since graduation, she’s been promoted from fast food drive-in girl to dental lab tech, a big step for this high school graduate.  I’m proud of you, Mary!

So, I’m retaining bragging rights a little longer to show you this:

*poppoppoppop*  That’s the sound of my buttons popping.  I edited the school and administrator, but I suppose if someone wanted to know this information, he or she could find it somewhere in cyberspace.  Today, Jeremiah and I attended our first and only college class together.  The class is required, so I was really excited that he wanted me to take it with him.  After class, I asked him, “Did I talk too much?”  He replied, “Gosh, Mom, yes!  I hate taking class with old women ’cause all they want to do is talk and prolong class!  All we want to do is get out of there.”  Well, actually, I enjoyed the topic and the exchange; I thought it was collegiate.  Plus, I was bored just listening.  *snore*  We old women like the interaction.  Have to talk to keep awake.  Know what I mean, Vern?  Just five more class meetings and this class will be history.  *check*

I’m outta here.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

10 Comments

  1. Mary / Jul 16 2011 7:53 PM

    Sometimes we just have to brag, and you sure have reason to. You two have raised a great bunch of kids; we need more parents like you. Thank you for a job well done.

    • dcwisdom / Jul 16 2011 10:37 PM

      Mary, there are no perfect parents and no perfect kids, but we manage with each other. Like the magnet in the picture says, “I could be a perfect parent if it weren’t for my kids!” With God’s help, all things are possible. 🙂 Thank you for the compliment.

  2. rayanne / Jul 15 2011 8:42 PM

    Dear Debbie,
    Wow…that’s so great about your daughter…she’s so pretty!
    I’ve been dealing with some stuff and I have not been blogging much, I will e-mail soon…
    I’m praying for you!!

  3. Deborah Pucci / Jul 15 2011 12:24 PM

    I couldn’t comment on your last post for some reason. Can’t believe they started having reunions in 1908! Congratulatins on your daughters graduation. I love the pink gown!

  4. Tara / Jul 15 2011 12:06 AM

    CONGRATS to all!!! Never a dull moment in your part of the world.

    My favorite is always the one I am with at the time!

    Hugs,
    tara

  5. debsladybugtexasb / Jul 14 2011 8:39 PM

    good answers…you should be bubbling over….

  6. tanna / Jul 14 2011 6:16 AM

    You have good reason for button-popping!! Cheers and Congratulations to BOTH of your favorites. LOL!

    I think it is so cool that you are taking a college class with your son!!

    blessings ~ tanna

  7. Jerry Dunkley / Jul 13 2011 11:10 PM

    I just want you to know that I have been reading your post or blog, or whatever you call it, and you are such an inspiration. First of all, you and I could not be more different, or more alike. I stumbled across you when I googled “Oldest College Student.” I am a 47 year old, African American male, who is retired from the U.S. Navy. I live in Virgina, and have children 23,22,21, and 15. I’ve recently returned to college. I was having a moment of insecurity about my return to school, so I googled to find someone who would make me feel more secure about my decision to return to school. What I found was someone, in a completely different part of the country, who has the same issues, joys, ups, and downs that I have. So, if no one else tells you this (and I know people have), THANKS! Its so good to know that even though we’re different in ways, in the most important ways, we share so much!

    • dcwisdom / Jul 14 2011 9:00 AM

      Thanks, Jerry. I LOL’d your response. I would have never thought my name would pop up on an “oldest college student” google. Come on, Jerry, let’s kick ’em in the butt! Keep me up on your story. Thanks.

  8. Vickie / Jul 13 2011 10:24 PM

    Oh, I’m proud of your kiddos, too! You just go right on ahead and bust your buttons – however you get across the finish line! Mary looks so pretty in her pink robes – like an angel! Ya’lls class together should be interesting!

Comments are closed.