Skip to content
June 9, 2011 / dcwisdom

I do!

How do you like the Converses?  This wedding, albeit quite traditional in some senses, was the most joyous, happiest celebration I’ve ever witnessed.  And the most colorful, in spite of the first few pictures.

Genesis 2:21 And the Lord God caused a deep sleep to fall upon Adam, and he slept.  And he took one of his ribs, and closed up the flesh instead thereof.  22 And the rib, which the Lord God had taken from man, made he a woman, and brought her unto man. 

23 And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man. 

As the mother of the groom, I grabbed what pictures I could.  Emily was so adorable in her silvery, sparkly Toms which she wanted to wear instead of heels.  She is a mite of a woman, just 5′ even, and Sam towers at 6’2″.  She loves the height difference.  Sam didn’t know about this sole message until the post-ceremony pictures were taken, and he was so proud.

Had to get my grandchildren’s pictures!  Madi was flower girl, and Kaleb was ring bearer.  I love this bit of tradition using little children.

Emily is totally a planner and organizer.  She had it all together, every detail.  Before the ceremony, the guests watched a dvd Sam produced of their younger years and their dating years until the wedding.  The pictures were very entertaining, and the music was contemporary, upbeat, and happy.  Kid #2 Rich was the soloist while the grandmothers and mothers walked in.  I almost melt every times he sings!

Emily, her culinary buds, and house party catapulted this reception to another level.  They brought in a pasta bar and fruit and cheese tables, the chocolate fountain and ice cream bar.  The cakes came from a bakery in Dallas, and Sam got his Texas Rangers cake.  The picture below shows the cake in the decorating stage that Emily wanted decorated with Gerber daisies, her chosen flowers for her bouquet.

 

 

The napkins caught me unawares.  I choked and cried when I saw this.  My baby boy is married.

24 Therefore shall a man leave his father and mother, and shall cleave unto his wife, and they shall be one flesh.  25 And they were both naked, the man and his wife, and were not ashamed.

 Here we are on earth together
It’s you and I
God has made us fall in love
It’s true
I’ve really found someone like you
Will it stay the love you feel for me
Will you say that you will be by my side
To see me through until my life is through
Well in my mind
We can conquer the world in love

You and I

I’m glad at least in my life I’ve found someone
That may not be here forever to see me through
But I found strength in you
Cause in my mind
You will stay here always in love
You and I

In my mind
We can conquer the world in love
You and I

 Lyrics by Michael Buble

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Glenda / Jun 11 2011 3:17 PM

    What a beautiful wedding, Debbie! Thanks so much for sharing the happy day with us!

  2. Mary / Jun 11 2011 4:51 AM

    She is beautiful! God bless them both.

    Thanks for sharing the pictures along with the Scriptures.

  3. Patty / Jun 11 2011 4:11 AM

    thanks for sharing. Had my mother lived, June 9th would have been their 55th wedding anniversary. How great it is we all still share one thing…A Wedding!! So exciting to see all the joy and beauty they bring to a young couple on their wedding day.

  4. Tara / Jun 9 2011 7:58 PM

    WOW…you have been a busy bee as of late! Beautiful wedding pictures. Looks like a fun wedding. The decor was awesome. Can’t wait to get together with you and Vickie and hear all about your kiddos weddings.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  5. Deborah Pucci / Jun 9 2011 5:58 PM

    Looks like a perfect wedding and filled with fun!

  6. jeanette / Jun 9 2011 2:52 PM

    Breathtaking bride, very handsome groom, beautiful cake and scrumptious looking food. Wish I could have been there because I love weddings. God bless these two and may they continue to live in You and never forget this day nor their spectacular love for one another.

Comments are closed.