Skip to content
May 2, 2011 / dcwisdom

The Dreaded Task

My name is Random today.

Watching the news coverage about OBL.  Really, I thought he was dead, already, years ago.  Guess I was wrong.  I am not overly excited, jumping up and down and waving the flag, but I am happy that our great Navy Seals had the privilege of doing the deed and ridding the world of a despotic, evil mastermind.

Another question:  So if we drill for oil in West Texas, all the lizards will die out there?  What a joke!  I am willing that a few lizards be sacrificed for the betterment of our country.  Just sayin’.

Oh, mercy.  My class final is in two days, and I still have several papers to write. Earlier, I sat down to write, and a feeling of dread passed over me.  I am trying to figure out to which the dread is directed:  To writing more papers, to world events, to our uncertain future?  This afternoon, I opened my church bulletin from yesterday and read this poem:

The Dreaded Task

 
I found the task
That I had dreaded so
Was not so difficult
When once begun;
It was the dread itself
That was the foe,
And dread once conquered
Means a victory won.
–Margaret E. Bruner
 

I hope this encourages someone like it did me.  I thought about going back to college some time ago and put it on my bucket list of things I want to complete before I die.  My advisor and I devised my degree plan last week.  I still have a good year plus if I go easy on myself, although it won’t be easy.  Still have college algebra to get through.  Ugh.

A silly story I gave in my class speech goes like this:  When I was in high school, I carried a solid C average.  Didn’t really care about grades.  I was more into having fun.  My dad was my high school principal (my classmates gasped at that), and as long as I didn’t give him and Mom any trouble, I was ok.  Mom and Dad never pushed us kids for excellent grades, although my sister Laura was a National Honor Society member (and she’s still very smart!  She was named Teacher of the Year in her school this year!  Yay!).  I did well in English, not so well in math, so my grades averaged out.  Out of my class of 33, I ranked 17, I think.  Remember the bell curve?  I was right on top of it.  My joke was that I was top of the class in grades.  *harhar*  I am so average!

I’m sure hoping that age has made me a bit smarter.

Ok.  Bye-bye for now.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God help America.  God bless you!

 
3 Comments

  1. rayanne / May 5 2011 12:17 PM

    Hello Random Today!
    I do like your style…come as often as you like!
    I too love the poem!
    Blessings dear friend!

  2. Layne Perkins / May 4 2011 3:42 PM

    That poem is right on!

  3. Deb / May 2 2011 7:14 PM

    you are so brave to go back to college….

Comments are closed.