Skip to content
April 26, 2011 / dcwisdom

A Wild Night Outside

Hey…We are still standing here in this northeast Texas corner.  Unfortunately, our neighbors to the north in the Natural State are not so fortunate.  I hope the C&V at stickhorse cowgirls are safe and sound tonight.  Praying for Arkansians tonight.

We did have some great rumblings, however, and twister sightings around the area.  I had a couple of calls saying the tornado sirens in town were going off, and Kid #3 Jeremiah said he drove into bad weather coming home from college.  He said it was the first time he was ever scared to be in his car during a storm.  That was pretty bad, then. 

These unedited pictures of the storm in this area were posted in the order in which they are taken.  Nothing you haven’t seen before.  Just the progression of the storm.  The time frame was two hours this evening, 6:30 til dark.  The last picture was looking out my front door into the pelting rain.

There you have it.   It doesn’t look too exciting, but it was, with plenty of swirling skies and a statue-still atmosphere.

College is progressing well.  I am meeting with my advisor tomorrow to get my degree plan in concrete.  So many times I ask myself what the heck I’m doing.  I suppose, many years ago, this college seed was planted in my brain and has simmered over the years.   My 72-year-old neighbor, a recent widow, returned to college.  She said going to college was always something she wanted to do.  I told her how really cool I thought she was for doing that.  I guess it’s never too late to do something you want to do.

I should have written today; instead, I was finishing a project for my mom, getting Mary’s graduation invitations in the mail, and watching the skies.  Now, I’m feeling guilty about writing this post instead of writing another paper.  O woe…

I think I shall go to bed now.  I’ll write later.

Peace and love.

5 Comments

  1. Deborah Pucci / Apr 28 2011 5:34 PM

    I am glad you were safe and I am praying for everyone who has been effected by these terrible storms.

  2. Vickie / Apr 26 2011 11:36 AM

    I was thinking about all you gals up that way last night. It went around us and we got about 10 inches of rain – in between drops! Glad you’re all safe and sound. That little town in Ark got practically wiped out. Not sure where C&V live, but I hope they’re safe, too.

    I enjoyed your college presentation post. I thought “THERE’s my friend!” Look at her! Being a student and all! I’m proud of ya, girl! I’m not going to rock in my chair either, but I’m not going back to college either. Glad you’re finishing this desire up and somewhere, somehow, your daddy is looking down on you and smiling!!! Love ya!

  3. Diana Ferguson / Apr 26 2011 6:41 AM

    Our weather is crazy here, too. So many have been affected around us.

  4. Deb / Apr 26 2011 6:05 AM

    so glad yall made it through the storm okay…lots of bad weather…we didn’t any of it…

  5. Patty / Apr 26 2011 1:03 AM

    Wow! Is there anywhere in the U.S. that the storms are not hitting right now? Have a cousin in TN that just said that her gutter was blown off. And here in good old IN it is raining cats and dogs(almost 8 inches of rain in 3 days south of I-70). There are some of the Interstates closed because of high water here in IN. Don’t know when it’s going to stop.
    Hope you have a good night sleep so you can get that paper wrote.

Comments are closed.