Skip to content
March 31, 2011 / dcwisdom

The Spelling Bee Spoof

“Your word is archipelago.” 

“What is the word, again?” 

“A capella.” 

“What?”

“Time’s up.”

“What?”

Yep, what an entertaining spoof of a spelling bee the Rotarians conducted!  One cute girl’s word was hippopotamus.  She shrugged, walked up to the mic and spelled g-o-o-d-b-y-e.

It was all in great fun, a fund-raiser for educational scholarships for local boys and girls.

One of my words was lieutenant.  Simple enough, but in my nervousness, I almost forgot that the i came first.  I spelled it correctly, though.  My partner was proud of me, and that’s what counted.  I love all of Jackie’s dimples; she French.  And S-M-A-R-T!

Great dinner, too – boiled shrimp, boiled new potatoes, corn-on-the-cob, and coleslaw – very Southern.

Beautiful people were there…

And plenty of cake!

All in great fun, which makes up for my first test grade this week!  Yesterday, I was really bummed.  I’m so not used to following someone else’s directions, and in my mind I wrote this fabulous paper, yet I didn’t follow the format.  Yeah, I didn’t.  *boohoo*  WAKE UP CALL FOR AIRHEAD!  Now, I have to buckle down to make it up.  GOSH!  Pray for me that I don’t flunk out of my first class back in college!  That would be so uncool…

Peace and love.

6 Comments

  1. tanna / Apr 2 2011 7:28 PM

    Debbie, that sounds like such a fun time!! And, those cakes look delicious! Congratulations on your great job spelling! And, I know you will ace that next paper!

  2. Deborah Pucci / Apr 1 2011 9:45 PM

    That sounds like it was a lot of fun! What a great idea.

  3. Patty / Apr 1 2011 8:52 AM

    sure you will do well on your next paper…you will ask for help from the many kiddo’s in your household,right?

  4. jeanette / Apr 1 2011 7:20 AM

    I would love attending this type of fundraiser but would not want to be a contestant in the spelling bee. When I’m nervous I can’t remember how to spell my own name! I’m sure you’ll get through the classes with flying colors, Debbie. I’ll bet your paper was really good – maybe you should post it here for your fans to read. ;0)

  5. Diana Ferguson / Apr 1 2011 6:22 AM

    Great idea and sounds so fun!

  6. Deb / Apr 1 2011 5:39 AM

    what a fun fundraiser…I’m sure you will do great on your next paper….

Comments are closed.