Skip to content
March 22, 2011 / dcwisdom

Thank God for Spellcheck

I’m watching the Celtic Women on LPB, enjoying their beautiful vocal/instrumental program.   It’s just my thing, along with spelling.  Odd combo, huh?  Yeah, I have the Women in the surround sound which absolutely makes them sound more heavenly than possible.  Just the kind of close musical harmony I love!

Ok.  That really doesn’t have anything to do with Spellcheck, but I’ve studied the dictionary this week.  Really.  I only thought I was a good speller, and I’m finding out how much practice I need.  It definitely pays to know your phonics, in spite of spellcheck which will not help me in this case. 

Because, I have been asked to participate in the annual Rotary Club Spelling Bee next Thursday night.  I can’t remember if I’ve ever been in a spelling competition, and I’m just slightly nervous.  My good friend, who’s our town’s librarian, asked me to be her partner, and I KNOW she’s sharp!

So, if you can think of any words that I need to know how to spell, send them on.  If you are not a regular commenter here, PLEASE DON’T GET NASTY!  God knows and watches all.

Here’s a challenge for anyone who wants a challenge:  How do you spell the word that means a showy object of little use or value?

Peace and love.

7 Comments

  1. Deborah Pucci / Mar 25 2011 3:41 PM

    I couldn’t leave a comment on the last blog. Love all the pictures but that last one with the rock is so darn cute! That is some challenge. I wish you success. I can’t spell worth a darn.

  2. tanna / Mar 23 2011 5:25 AM

    I know the word you are talking about, but don’t have a clue how to spell it!! LOL! I’d need LOTS of practice before a spelling bee! Good luck, Debbie!

  3. Jill / Mar 23 2011 4:49 AM

    I spell it geegaw when I don’t want to say gimcrack – haha. You will do fine in the competition!

  4. Deb / Mar 22 2011 9:27 PM

    you go girl..I’m not a bad speller…but would be terrified to do a spelling bee…
    I do better playing with a word till I figure it out…no good under pressure…

  5. rayanne / Mar 22 2011 9:18 PM

    ok….
    GIMCRACK.

    • dcwisdom / Mar 22 2011 9:25 PM

      Rayanne, you are tooooo sharp! I need to find a harder one, I guess. Did you have some help??? lol

  6. rayanne / Mar 22 2011 9:14 PM

    I too love spell- check and would be a doedoe without it…really! Have fun!
    Your challenge word:
    frivilous

Comments are closed.