Skip to content
March 10, 2011 / dcwisdom

I’m here and I should be there…

Ever been here doing this…this…and should be there doing that?  That’s where I’m finding myself at this moment.  I know I should be outside planting potatoes or walking or watching the DVD for my coaching class tonight, but I’m here, instead, with YOU!  I’ve been to the computer guru today, trying to get things organized here on my new machine, and she sent me home with computer assignments.  And, out my window, the sun is shining, and the weather’s great…  I need to be out there!  SO, I’ll try a quick computer assignment, and you’re the guinea pig!, and then I’m headed out to the real world.

Oh, HOORAY!  It worked!   I’ve tried to get my pictures from folders to the screen, and it finally worked.  You can see I’m smiling.  Another thing to cross off my list today…

Me on a regular day.  Please don’t be too harsh on me…   ~

My mom left in mid-February to stay with her sister near Dallas and returned home last night.  Several reasons for her being there — chemo treatments and doctor appointments, my grandmother’s 110th birthday, and her cousin visiting from California.  Mom had her third chemo treatment last week.  The doc said that her stage 4 situation is treatable but not curable.  Treatable.  Not curable.  Those were harsh words in my mind concerning my mom.    Mom and I have had a long, close relationship, and I don’t relish the thought of her going on.  With my dad, I had more time to come to terms and prepare mentally for his spiritual departure from this earth, and maybe it’s that he’s gone from us that I don’t like the thought of losing Mom.  However, I know that life ends and begins, the natural cycle of such, so I can come to terms that life goes on, as my Kid#2 Rich says.

At 110, Grandmother is slowing down…ha…slowing down…  at 110…of course, she is!  For 20 years, we’ve said, “This could be her last birthday!”  But, it seems as though she’s seen her last.  We don’t expect her to live a lot longer, and we are eternally grateful we’ve had her this long into our lives.  Life with a woman born in 1901 who has remembered world wars, horses and buggies and the first cars, the welcome of indoor plumbing and electricity,and who has eight grandchildren, 32 great-grandchildren, and 6 great-great-grandchildren has been an incredible experience.

Mom, her sister, and their first cousin have partied the last three weeks.  Now, Laurann has returned to her home in California but not without leaving many memories and laughs.  A newspaper clipping she found goes as such:

I’m not saying my girlfriend is a ditz, but she called me last evening and said, “Please come over right away.  I need your help.  I have a new jigsaw puzzle, and I can’t figure out how to get started.”

I asked, “What is it supposed to look like when it’s finished?”

She said, “According to the picture on the box, it’s a rooster.”

I went over and checked out the pieces, which were spread all over her dining room table.  I said to her, “There’s no way we are going to make a rooster out of this.”

She said, “Why not?”

I took her hand, gently, and said, “I want you to relax.  In fact, why don’t you sit down and I’ll fix you a cup of tea.  Later, we’ll put all the corn flakes back in the box.”

That funny little story is so much like those three wonderful women!  Talk about old women who have a good time!  That’s what I want to be when I grow up.

Ok, I’m going outside to do something.  God bless you today.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.

6 Comments

  1. Debby Pucci / Mar 12 2011 3:00 PM

    Love the sweet Corn Flakes story. Hard to believe your Grandmother is 110 years old. My husbands grandmother was born in 1900 but passed at 97 and we thought that was remarkable. I pray that your mother’s treatment keeps her going for a long time. These are precious moments. ((HUGS))

  2. Tara / Mar 12 2011 10:39 AM

    Hey my friend! Will continue prayer for you and your mom. I know this weighs heavy on you.
    On a happier note, I love your hair! Too cute. Haven’t seen it since you cut it shorter.
    Need to come visit me at the lake this week!
    Hugs,
    TARA

  3. Patty / Mar 11 2011 2:18 PM

    Praying for you and your mom. It would be hard to lose two people @the same time that had been in your life forever. I did lose my aunt who was like a grandmother to us (my dad’s sister) and my grandma (my mom’s mom) 12 days apart when I was in my 20’s. I know now I didn’t know the total impact it can make on people as they grow older. As I have said before I lost my mother in 2006 and don’t really know how long my dad will be with us. Just praying you come to peace. And hope you are able to enjoy your mom as Spring turns into Summer. :)!

  4. tanna / Mar 11 2011 7:10 AM

    debbie, i am sorry for the news about your mom. i know you would hope for a cure. treatable is the next best thing. i am sending prayers.

    110 is outright amazing! glad the ‘girls’ have been enjoying themselves! that’s how i want to be when i grow up! 😉

  5. Mary / Mar 11 2011 4:33 AM

    My heart goes out to you with your mom and the condition of her cancer. Enjoy the moments.

  6. jeanette / Mar 10 2011 3:29 PM

    Actually, the newspaper clipping sounds like my Mama, my sister and myself! So daggone funny. How dare you show such a horrible photo of your real, around the house-self, Debbie. Are you serious???? You look mahvalous, daaaling. Really. You do. :0)

Comments are closed.