Skip to content
February 15, 2011 / dcwisdom

The Simple (Read ‘Cheap’) Valentine: Is there such a thing?

And, as I hit mid-life stride, the simpler I want it. 

I recently talked to a friend whose husband spent his birthday with their granddaughter, and after a day of “fun,”  he was exhausted.  The couple had planned that night to have dinner at a very expensive restaurant, but as the afternoon grew later, he asked his wife if she would fix him pancakes, instead, and skip the over-priced dinner.

While shopping over the weekend for Valentines gifts for my two young grandchildren, I tried to choose just the right items for them, and thought since when did everything get so expensive?  Just buying package wrappings is ridiculous!  I showed Rick what I bought, and he asked, “Why didn’t you buy a bunch of little stuff for the boxes?”

[At Christmas, I bought one stocking stuffer for each stocking.  The kids were shocked!  “Where are the stocking stuffers, Mom?”   I hanged ten stockings; I couldn’t very well spend the normal amount (around $25 per stocking – gift cards, candy, socks, lip balm, etc.).  I couldn’t justify it.  And this December, I will hang another stocking.  Do the math.  Guess I could buy in bulk and divide, but not everybody likes No. 2 pencils in his stocking!]

So, I gave Rick a quick lesson in “little stuff.”   That’s one thing husbands don’t understand, it seems; “little things” morph into big bucks at the checkout.

The key word here is “simple.” 

So on this very special day of love, my youngest lovely and I did a simple, yet delightful, thing.

We bought sandwiches at Subway and picnicked at the park.  Uncomplicated, yet time well spent.  Simple.  Memorable.  Add the love, and there you have it.  I love you, dear daughter.

Peace and love.

4 Comments

  1. Stacey at Living by Faith / Feb 17 2011 11:52 AM

    What a great afternoon! Those little gift things do add up! In our case many of those little things that I can afford to stuff a stocking with or a birthday goodie bag wind up broken or in the garbage within a few days. Sad but true.

  2. Debby Pucci / Feb 15 2011 7:40 PM

    Now that sounds like a perfect afternoon on Valentine’s Day!

  3. Vickie / Feb 15 2011 2:38 PM

    AWWWW! How cute! M is such a cutie- I’ll bet she’s a riot – she just looks like her mother that way! 😉 Look at that mischievious smile – even behind her sandwich!

    We’ve been subwaying it, too, or sandwiching it at home. Our stockings were rather sad-looking this Christmas, too, Deb. Don’t feel bad. The kids are getting older, but they complained about getting the “shaft” at Christmas — in a laughing manner, but it’s true! All that little stuff just adds up real quick! And it seems like “girl stuff” is more expensive and girls need (or think they need) more “stuff”. Glad you got out with your little girl there! I’d so love to meet your kiddos!

  4. Deb / Feb 15 2011 2:20 PM

    simple is so much better…and makes better memories…

Comments are closed.