Skip to content
January 26, 2011 / dcwisdom

My Two Cents on the State of the Union Address

Not that I watched the entire speech.  Schnoozer!  *sigh*  Schmucky! 

*big yawn*  Really boring…kinda like my speeches to my kids…

But today, wanting to read the speech in print, I logged onto the White House website.  I didn’t necessarily read the speech to critique it, but you know me, and I thought his last few thoughts were good:  “We do big things.”

Yes, we Americans do big things.  The space race is a good example.  So what if the Russians gave us a little competition, and push, to extend science into space travel.  Competition is good.   Americans, Germans, Chinese, Soviets,  Israelis, Japanese, Canadians (15 total nations) have co-existed in the space program, manning missions, and working together on the International Space Station.  That’s big and important.

Yes, we Americans do big things.  Technology, for example.  My kids don’t know anything but lap tops and iPhones that access world-wide information.  That’s big.

Yes, we Americans do big things.  We help other nations.  That’s good, but here’s what Mr. President said:  “The Secretary of Defense has also agreed to cut tens of billions of dollars in spending that he and his generals believe our military can do without.”  Well, I would like to know which generals agreed with that statement, because I’m certain they misspoke.  I don’t know of any veterans or active duty men and women who would like their benefits and support cut.  Talk about a fist in the gut to our military!  Take this, military:  WHOP!

LIGHT BULB IDEA:  Why doesn’t Mr. President stop funding foreign nations and regimes and reroute the money to our military?  Sounds constitutional to me, like in the Second Amendment:  A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

The following statements sound like parent/children exchanges:  We’re telling America’s scientists and engineers that if they assemble teams of the best minds in their fields, and focus on the hardest problems in clean energy, we’ll fund the Apollo projects of our time…  AND … To all 50 states, we said, “If you show us the most innovative plans to improve teacher quality and student achievement, we’ll show you the money.”

Kids, clean the house while I’m gone today, and I’ll buy pizza for supper tonight and send you on a Caribbean cruise! 

And who’s “we?”

Mr. President, scientists, engineers, teachers…they are adults, not children.  They don’t need bribes and prompting from you to be innovative and creative.  Just let them do their things.  Stay out of their way.  They will get the job done.

…freeze annual domestic spending for the next five years…  Again, freeze annual foreign spending for the next five years!  Use those funds to supplement the bankrupt Social Security system for the seniors and the disabled.

…simplify the individual tax code…  YES!  Finally, he’s getting it!  FLAT TAX EVERYONE!

The 21st century government that’s open and competent.  A government that lives within its means…  Let’s see you pull that off, Mr. President.

And, finally, why does any government entity have to be in charge of salmon?

My two cents.  And that’s what it’s worth:  2 cents.

Peace and love.

4 Comments

  1. Sue / Jan 27 2011 2:39 PM

    Well if we put your two cents with my two cents, and my friends’ two cents, and so on and so on…… we should have enough cents to get someone in his job that has real sense. I keep praying for this great country of ours as I know many others do. Thanks for sharing your two cents- we all need to!

  2. Deb / Jan 27 2011 6:28 AM

    oh Deb I couldn’t agree with you more….Blah blah blah…is what I hear when the politician are telling us how we need to cut back…but they just go right on spending….Flat tax would be great…..

  3. tanna / Jan 27 2011 6:22 AM

    I DIDN’T listen to the speech. I did read over it. And, I agree with you on all points, Debbie!

  4. Vickie / Jan 26 2011 9:16 PM

    I watched a little of the speech til I got bored listening to Bam-bam talk to us like we’re three year olds. Does he actually think we believe all that malarchy? It was vague and full of empty promises AGAIN as usual. I’m so disgusted with the way everything’s going I don’t even know what to do. Thanks for your point of view and I agree with you. I’m about ready to kick my TV out the window and quit listening and watching. It’s all full of gloom and doom anyway. Good post, girl.

Comments are closed.