Skip to content
January 20, 2011 / dcwisdom

Say Hello to the Oldest College Student in the World

I DID IT!  I am now registered for college after 28 years.  I gulped really big and did it.

Do you know how much nerve it took to do it?  I’m still shaking. 

I felt like I should go to the campus and get all the junk done looking like a real professional, so I wore my best pant suit and heels and carried my new,  buttery-yellow handbag.  I was the oldest person on the sidewalk.  Talk about out of place!

You have to know and understand what age and maturity does to women.  We don’t drag our feet; we walk with the best posture; we hold up our heads and paste an important look to our faces.  And the kids move to the side of the walk and bow as we pass.  Make way for the Queen!  Make way for the Queen!  Really.  They are in awe of maturity.  You should try it sometime.

This one dude in the elevator asked me where the Business Office was.  I pointed down a hallway and told him to look for the sign.  Truly, I didn’t even know if we were on the right floor.  

In the registrar’s office, the woman behind the computer looked past the kids, pointed to me, and asked, “Can I help you, ma’am?”  It’s called “preferential treatment.”  Only because they know the elderly women need the most help.  And the kids didn’t even complain that I cut in line!  I just walked up to the front like I was very important.  They were in awe!

The boy behind me asked, “Don’t you work here?”  Me:  No.  I’m a college student.  Boy:  Seriously?  Me:  Yep, I am.  Boy:  Seriously?  Oh my god, my grandmother would never go back to college!

He just couldn’t believe it!  He kept asking Seriously?  And I showed him my schedule.  I thought he would faint, such a drama queen.

[Have you ever noticed that 18-year-old kids think that anyone older than the age of 30 is a senior citizen?  Recently, I took myself to the movies.  At the window, I asked for one adult ticket.  The sweet little boy said, “One senior ticket – $5.50.”  I just stood there for a moment and then gladly handed him the $5.50!  Wow!  From now on, I’m not going with kids.  They just make me look too young!]

Old people going to college are just plain phenomenons!

FYI:  Some schools have programs for people like me that have college hours but haven’t graduated.  These particular programs use past experiences in the work force as college hours toward a degree plan.  The programs are tailored for the “experienced adult,” but all students must meet the basic requirements of the university.  Individual college/university programs may vary, but most know that we old folks want to get in and get out as soon as possible.

As you know, I’ll keep you updated.  This should be a wild ride!

10 Comments

  1. Laura / Jan 22 2011 9:47 AM

    Congrats! What you taking. I’m really thinking about Computer networking if things would settle down here.

  2. Glenda / Jan 22 2011 9:01 AM

    I hope you’re studying something in the field of communications. You definitely have a talent as a writer! When I was still teaching I loved the respect I got from most of the younger teachers. They actually valued my opinion. That was one of the few perks of growing older! 🙂

  3. Mary / Jan 22 2011 4:47 AM

    So what’s your major?

  4. Debbie / Jan 20 2011 10:49 PM

    It makes me tires just to think about it! But you go ahead on 😀

  5. Debby Pucci / Jan 20 2011 12:48 PM

    Awesome, way to go!

  6. Vickie / Jan 20 2011 10:29 AM

    Good for you! World, step out of the way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Deb / Jan 20 2011 6:28 AM

    go for you…my daughters kindergarten teacher went back to school when her kids graduated from college..got her degree and started teaching when most are ready to stop….

  8. tanna / Jan 20 2011 5:54 AM

    LOL! You go girl! What classes are you taking? Look forward to hearing more of your adventures! I know there will be plenty!!

  9. Patty / Jan 20 2011 1:39 AM

    first off, good for you for even signing up for classes. Just couldn’t do it myself anymore. I just want retirement age to get here so I can sit back and relax!

  10. suzisays09 / Jan 20 2011 1:10 AM

    Awesome, I know your family is so proud of you, you got me thinking, and as anybody who knows me knows, that is scary! What you say about the queen thing is true. As someone who always seem to always end up working with a young set of folks. It is always interesting and such a blessing to re-experience a younger view of life than our own sage view. I for one am looking forward to hearing of your adventures.

Comments are closed.