Skip to content
January 19, 2011 / dcwisdom

Once, I Was a Stick

I weighed 117 pounds when I said I do.  That was 35 years ago. 

Growing up in the 1960’s, kids were skinny.  Very few people were fat.  McDonald’s was not on every corner.  Moms (most) stayed at home and cooked organic, unprocessed meats and rain-cleansed vegetables from the backyard garden.  We kids played outside for hours.  We walked to school.  We were a healthy lot.

So, what happened in the last four decades?

The potato.  Yes.  I blame the lowly potato.  The potato built McDonald’s and put the calories in hamburgers.  The potato is the backbone for all meat.  The potato is like the manna which fell from heaven on the Israelites in the desert.  It’s the sudden and unexpected source of gratification,  pleasure, and (weight) gain.

(No, I’m not naming overeating, Dairy Queen blizzards, Chili’s four-portion meals, or no gym membership for a 40-year weight gain!)

In fact, I found an exercise which is a muscle-builder and waistline shrinker  making the potato count as diet-positive:

Begin by standing on a comfortable surface where you have plenty of room at each side.

With a 5-lb potato bag in each hand, extend your arms straight out from your sides and hold them there as long as you can. Try to reach a full minute, and then relax.

Each day you’ll find that you can hold this position for just a bit longer. After a couple of weeks, move up to 10-lb potato bags.

Then try 50-lb potato bags and then eventually try to get to where you can lift a 100-lb potato bag in each hand and hold your arms straight for more than a full minute.  (I’m at this level.)    
  
After you feel confident at that level, put a potato in each bag.

By doing this exercise, I feel confident I can reach my goal of 117 pounds again by the time I’m 80.  Wish me luck.

6 Comments

  1. Debbie / Jan 19 2011 6:03 PM

    You are hilarious! I was sitting here in shock till I realized you were liftin empty bags. Girl! I don’t know what it would take to make me slim again. I’m sure I’d overcome it!
    😀

  2. Debby Pucci / Jan 19 2011 4:44 PM

    I was 105 when I got married and we did not have fast food to eat. We played outside all day long too, not playing video games indoors. I was hoping that you were going to tell me some secret recipe for the potato that would help me lose weight! Thanks for the laugh.

  3. Vickie / Jan 19 2011 4:19 PM

    HAHA! Can I do this with bags of noodles? Pasta is my weakness…

    Somehow I don’t think noodles would do the trick…

  4. jeanette / Jan 19 2011 3:31 PM

    Seriously, when my siblings and I were kids we would play until well after dark or until Mama made us come in for the night. We were tough little hooligans in those days and I feel priviledged to have grown up during that era. The only thing I didn’t like was not having air conditioning during our brutal deep south summers. One thing for sure – it makes me very appreciative of central air today! ;o)

  5. jeanette / Jan 19 2011 3:27 PM

    Hee, hee, haa, haa, Debbie. You are only slightly ahead of me in the ‘holding-the-potato-bag’ exercise. I might be well ahead if I didn’t stop every little while to munch on my McD’s Fries. Yum

  6. Deb / Jan 19 2011 11:44 AM

    you had me for a minute girl….great post….

Comments are closed.