Skip to content
January 15, 2011 / dcwisdom

My Life As a Sandwich

I share a sandwich with millions of others. 

[Nothing I say here is new since there is nothing new under the sun, but writing is cathartic, healing, and expressive, and so I shall write.  Thus begins a new chapter in my life.  You read it here first, dear reader.]

I’m sure you’ve heard the  term “sandwich generation,” meaning between generations, I guess, within the epoch of growing children and aging parents. 

For many years, I have spent my life at home with my children.  God bless my husband.   The time was truly a blessing, being able to home school my children and not worry about paying the bills and the outside world.  We have, in my opinion, great memories; however, my kids might beg to differ.  When we weren’t studying the Three R’s, we were in music lessons, playing organized sports, working, or volunteering somewhere.  

Brin remembers vividly her weekly job of  cleaning house for an elderly lady, having to vacuum out each of the lady’s shoes and scrub her bathroom floor on her hands and knees like in the olden days.  The boys planted thousands of pine seedlings one winter with another home school family, and Mary volunteered many hours at the public library.

All the while, my dear parents and in-laws travelled and enjoyed being retired.  Those were good days, happy and busy.

And then death and illness visited our parents.  Sadness and sorrow were their companions in those seasons.  Meanwhile, the kids grew up, and now some are flying solo while others are trying their wings.  It’s a beautiful time of life, even in the midst of loss and suffering, groaning and straining.  Music still plays; the sun still shines.

Times are changing.  Children are marrying and adding to our family, graduating, and finding their way in life, and very recently, my mother received the doctor’s report that cancer has returned to her body, and she faces chemotherapy treatments in the next few months. 

In the sandwich.  Nothing new to many of you.

Meanwhile, amongst all this busy-ness with family, I have decided to return to college.  I want to complete what I started many years ago before I grow too old to care, and along with studying, I’ll be in the work force.  Only two more small additions to my life. 

Many friends and family want to retire soon to an easier lifestyle, but I want to live something different now.  Yes, we are nearing retirement years, but there’s too much out there I haven’t done yet, and I’m feeling pretty prime now.

The beginning of a new life and a new season…

…and you heard it here.  Chronicles of a sandwich. 

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Jeremiah 29:11

And I eagerly anticipate charging the future.  Perhaps my word for this year should be “CHARGE!”

God bless you.  God bless Israel.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God help America.  Please pray for Mom.

7 Comments

  1. Mary / Jan 18 2011 4:51 AM

    So how it’s your turn? Good for you! I guess this means there’ll be less posting, but squeeze it in somehow. I want to know how you are doing.

  2. rayanne / Jan 17 2011 2:57 PM

    first, that verse has comforted me many, many times, second, you know i will be praying for your Mom.
    Last…I love you friend….you go girl, you’re just gettin’ started!!
    Love you new blog look too!!

  3. tanna / Jan 17 2011 5:26 AM

    Charge on, Debbie! Charge on! I’ll be cheering you from the sidelines!

    I am so sorry to hear about your mom’s having a return of the ca. Will add her to my prayers.

  4. Debby Pucci / Jan 16 2011 9:31 AM

    That is wonderful news. Wow, I am impressed. Wishing you success in your new venture. I had never heard of the term “sandwich generation.” I love the pictures of the iced plant.

  5. Deb / Jan 16 2011 8:52 AM

    I like the way you put it Deb….great photos…I pray all goes well with your Mom…your kids were so fortunate to have had you home school them…and teach them about real life along with the three R’s…too many kids don’t get that… You go girl…

  6. Glenda / Jan 16 2011 8:05 AM

    What a beautiful post, Debbie! It’s never too late to finish that education and I know so many exciting adventures await you! I have a 63 yr. old friend, retired from teaching, who is now in Hong Kong teaching again! She dragged her husband along and they are having the time of their lives. Sometimes when we are in that sandwich, we totally lose ourselves and I’m glad to hear that you are still fulfilling your dreams. You go, girl!

  7. suzisays09 / Jan 16 2011 2:21 AM

    Rock on Mama Wisdom!!!

Comments are closed.