Skip to content
January 11, 2011 / dcwisdom

The Old Blame Game (and it is getting old)

I spent a delightful day at home today with Jeremiah.  We had fun.

Winter snows paralyze us here in NETexas.  In the last 24 hours, we received three or four inches on top of ice, and the high temperature today hovered just around freezing, keeping snow on the ground but melting the snow on the roads to slush which will refreeze tonight.  Main roads were driveable, but slick side and county roads kept school buses in their barns and gave the kids a gray day of wintertime fun.

What’s wrong with this picture!  Sledding uphill just doesn’t look safe.  All you sledders know where this is going!

During the day while indoors, son and I watched news about the weather and current events.  One topic of our conversation was the tragic shooting in Arizona.  Certainly, our thoughts and prayers are with those who lost loved ones and hope and prayer for the wounded dear ones and their recovery.

Hang ten, Jeremiah, hang ten!

One news anchor mentioned world history’s assassinations, something of which this younger generation knows little.  Jeremiah asked me about assassination accounts, and I recounted the 1960’s assassinations of J.F. Kennedy, M.L. King, and R.F. Kennedy.  (He couldn’t believe that I remembered them, being so far back and all, and I don’t think he thinks of me as an old mom!)  Correct me, dear reader, if I am wrong here, but I don’t remember another assassination, except for the attempt on President Reagan in the ’80’s. 

It was bound to happen (referring to the boy above).

Our nation has once again experienced an assassination attempt and tragic murders on a political crowd in Arizona. 

When the Loughner boy, who apparently had diabolical problems of his own, actually smiled for his mug shot (Look at me, Mom!  Look what I did!  Clap, Mom, clap!), the proud and deranged young man owned the moment.

Ride that boy, sled!

I mean, the young man took possession of his actions.  However crazy the situation, he was his own hero.  How sad.  Maybe his only good quality is personal responsibility.  Can’t wait to hear his court case.

What I can’t understand is how seemingly knowledgeable adults want to make situations, like assassinations, political.  It’s the typical blame game.    Finger pointing.  Accusations.  I’m tired of it.

Down for the count!

I guess the political “progressives”, such as the off-centered sheriff,  have to copy-cat (following like elementary school children on the playground) their radical leader-heroes like Hillarack, blaming the “enemy” politicos for the  horrible actions of deranged people.  It’s as though these criticizers have no rationale of their own, only double-mindedness toward politically opposed thinkers.

Do liberals ever have pain in the brain? 

How can someone intelligently link an assassination attempt/murders to a much earlier spoken general statement made by any political figure?  How mindless and simple.  It’s time give John Q. Public a break!

Do you like the barn?  That old thing was probably built with the wood from Noah’s Ark, it’s that old.

We need to see each person (i.e. Loughner) for who he is, not who we perceive him to be because of our own political inclinations and two-bit opinions.  Lord have mercy. 

[If one wants to be viewed as intelligent, it would behoove one to use two ears before using one big, fat mouth.  I say this, because sometimes my one big, fat mouth precedes me.  Live and learn.  I am guilty.  But, I’m trying to be more intelligent and wise before I grow old and die.]

Remember the question Nicodemus asked Jesus: ” How can a man be born again?  Can a man enter his mother’s womb the second time and be born?”

Jesus answered:  “I speak the truth:  Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.  That which is born of the flesh is flesh, but that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.  Don’t marvel when I say to you ‘you must be born again.'”  (John 3)

To gain wisdom and understanding of all matters, we must be ‘born again.’  That is the only way to understand life in true context. 

Thanks for sharing my day with me.  God bless you.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

7 Comments

  1. Patty / Jan 12 2011 1:06 AM

    Wow! I didn’t think there was a way to comment anymore. It just seems to me we don’t want the responsibility that goes a long with shotting someone or killing them…we want to pull the trigger but there’s no responsibility in pulling the trigger…not saying I want anyone to pull a trigger. I don’t think killings or shottings solve anything…even for a deranged person.

  2. Debby Pucci / Jan 12 2011 12:14 AM

    Way to many tragic events and I don’t see things getting better.
    Looks like Jeremiah had fun! Looks like he WAS asking for trouble.
    Love the old barn.

  3. Layne / Jan 11 2011 2:27 PM

    Debbie, so well said!!! I believe liberals never have “pain in the brain.” Only those who know the truth and see the untruth know that pain. Love you!

  4. Vickie / Jan 11 2011 11:02 AM

    Amen and Amen, sistah. I was listening to the news this morning, and our local radio station was having a “talk-back” from listeners for a whole hour about the “blame game”. The pundits and news-guys, and I can’t remember which ones, one of em on TV – maybe Obermeyer (he has a talk show anyway) are pointing to the conservative Right and saying that it’s THEIR fault for stirring this guy up and making the Left feel this way or that way. They said people like Rush Limbaugh were at fault. I hate all this finger pointing crap. Can’t people just be responsible for their own actions??? The focus has been taken off the tragedy in Arizona and instead it’s now who’s to blame. That has become the bigger story! Git rid of the guns! they’re now saying. This is madness! Focus on the people, give the shooter what he deserves and quit the blaming!!! Makes me ILL! We should be carrying guns nowadays I guess, to protect ourselves from nuts like this guy! AND maybe from the nuts in our government, too!

  5. tanna / Jan 11 2011 7:46 AM

    Debbie, I am adjusting to your new blog look. Love it, but couldn’t comment on the ones before this that I had missed! I LOVE your new workout room! There is something much more appealing about being outside to exercise!

    And, yes, the blame game is tiresome!! It just seems some common sense is in order!

  6. Deb / Jan 11 2011 6:37 AM

    great post…how can they jump to conclusions of why this young man did what he did? it makes no sense to me how this can be political….love the photos…

  7. Mary / Jan 11 2011 4:26 AM

    Loved the snow pictures.

    Coming from a family of hunters, the first thing my husband said was ‘they’ll talk about taking away the guns again.’ It’s not the guns; it’s the one holding the gun.

    We have a salesman from Singapore. Years ago he said they don’t have the crime rate as America does because of the punishment to the criminal. Tough and radical? You betcha. But it’s safe over there.

Comments are closed.