Skip to content
January 5, 2011 / dcwisdom

Michele, may we please have dessert?

I love Hershey’s Chocolate, and I love s’mores.  Forget the camp fire.  Sometimes, I go straight to the kitchen, pull out the graham crackers, marshmallows, and the Hershey’s Chocolate bars, turn the oven on broil, plunk a big, fat marshmallow on a cracker, pop it in the oven to brown, nestle a chocolatey hunk of Hershey in melted, gooey goodness, top it off with another crunchy cracker, and enjoy!

Here’s to you, Sarah Palin!

A couple of things been itchin’ my dandruff lately.  One, the “right” to have dessert.  Two, the “right” to speak what’s on our minds.

When the December 21 issue of USA Today magazine reported that “[Michele] told the NAACP in July that she tells daughters Malia and Sasha that “dessert is not a right,” this is what I thought:  Dessert is as much a right here in this country as breathing.  Dessert is part of life; dessert is part of liberty; dessert is part of our pursuit of happiness.  Since when is dessert not our right?

*ring-a-ling*  White House – uh, yes, could I please speak with Michele? – one moment — Hello — Michele? — Yes — This is Debbie. Please, just today, could I please, please, please, have one little Hershey bar?  Just one? — Well, since you’re name begins with “D” and dessert begins with “D”, this is not your lucky day.  No more dessert!  It’s just not right that fat people, or children for that matter, eat dessert.  No Hershey for you!  *click*

Many political conservatives have sidled with her.  Michele adopted her healthy eating platform to encourage Americans toward better health, which is a noble cause.  It’s good that we can find common ground.  We should all encourage one another to healthier lifestyles.  Yet, to dis Sarah Palin because she likes s’mores?  Come on.

I believe Sarah got it right.  In the same USA Today article, Sarah, searching through her RV’s cupboards for s’mores ingredients, said, “This is in honor of Michelle Obama, who said the other day we should not have dessert.”

So, who is Michele that she can tell the American people what to eat?  Moms everywhere, like gutsy Sarah Palin, need to put our feet (or is it foots?) down and say, Michele, who made you the food police?  We Americans still have the “right” to choose what and when we eat.  Our opinions may differ, but isn’t that what makes America great?  This is still a country in which all people, fat or skinny, have the right to enjoy the blessing of food and dessert.  You can tell your girls that dessert is not their right, but I won’t say that to mine.

And, just because our speech and opinions aren’t always agreeable to each other, let’s just be thankful we can say things without getting our heads chopped off.  Let’s agree to disagree and all try to live peaceably under one constitution.

I thank God that there are still places on this earth of peace and love,  comfort and joy.  God bless you.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.

10 Comments

  1. Glenda / Jan 6 2011 9:24 AM

    Ha! You tell ’em, Debbie! And in support of your post, I’m going right now to make a dessert for tonight’s dinner, preferably something chocolate!

  2. Patty / Jan 6 2011 1:34 AM

    I say we all should beable to eat what we want…yet, Michelle isn’t the only one telling us how we eat. McDonald’s is redoing their Happy Meal’s. Now, what’s with that? And we can’t smoke anywhere any more…no, I’m not a smoker but I have always believed everyone has a right to smoke, drink, or say what they want. JUST not at my house (which is at my expense!). So, turn on that flame and allow that marshmallow to burn and put it between two graham crackers and add that hershey’s Milk Chocolate candy bar for that s’more…!!

  3. Vickie / Jan 5 2011 9:50 PM

    Besides that, if they can take a vacation to Hawaii, then I can eat s’mores til I pop! And my healthcare STILL won’t cost as much as their over-the-top trip!!!

  4. Vickie / Jan 5 2011 9:49 PM

    Pass the Hershey’s please!

    And another marshmallow or five!

    And a couple dozen graham crackers!

    Here’s to having DESSERT!!!!

    Ain’t nobody gonna tell me what I can and can’t do! And Michele let her family have ice cream on their trips!

  5. tanna / Jan 5 2011 7:05 PM

    I’m so glad dessert is still a freedome we can enjoy!!

  6. Deb / Jan 5 2011 6:59 PM

    I’m tired of them (you know who I’m talking about) telling us what we should and shouldn’t do….all the while they continue to run us into the ground..I say if you want desert eat it….it’s between you….and your waistline…

  7. Debbie / Jan 5 2011 6:01 PM

    Isn’t it funny how people choose their platforms. Fat people are particularly offensive to her, where abortion, cigarettes and liquor are obviously ok. Her husband smokes, I’m sure they are social drinkers, AND he has done everything in his power to open the floodgates to allow unlimited abortion and fetal cell research. But it warms my heart to know, that if that baby survives the womb, Michelle is determined to keep it fat free. What an example she is to her daughters. By the way, Sarah doesn’t look like those s’mores have done her any harm. Maybe Michelle just needs a good s’more!

  8. Debby Pucci / Jan 5 2011 5:44 PM

    I hadn’t heard that one because I don’t do the news. Dessert is a pleasure that I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. Isn’t it what children get when they eat their dinner, that extra treat!

  9. Rayanne / Jan 5 2011 5:21 PM

    so glad you posted! I always love reading your blog deary!

    • Tara / Jan 5 2011 7:33 PM

      Too funny! Have missed blogging this past month. Always love reading your posts. Such a great writer. Go S’mores!
      hugs,
      tara

Comments are closed.