Skip to content
December 6, 2010 / dcwisdom

Fabio and Miracles

I’m on break.  Taking five or ten or 60.

After working on the Christmas program information for the church secretary, I ripped down shower curtains and window curtains and stuck them in the washing machine.  I can only ignore dusty, dirty curtains for so long.  Can you tell me why I decided to spring clean before setting up the Christmas tree?  My next projects are cleaning the oven and the frig.  It’s the feeling of the nesting phase before baby delivery day.

Turned on the telly to get my daily world news fix, and Fabio is on Neil Cavuto.  The Italian’s gotta be 60 at least, but, boy, has he aged gracefully.  Mmmm…  He just said he doesn’t eat McDonald’s or Burger King.  And Neil Cavuto won’t shut up.

Ok, so you don’t want recycled news here…  What IS news here is this:

Yeah, this is some serious news.  Rick brought home this ginormous lemon at Thanksgiving from a friend who grows greenhouse-size lemons.  Can’t wait to slice it open.  I can only imagine what a fantastic lemon pie it will make!

And speaking of Thanksgiving, my ginormous family met together to give thanks for all God’s blessings and miracles we have received yet another year.  I consider the greatest among them is Mom’s healing from cancer, and secondly, we added to our family in good ways:  one marriage and three births.

 

We only had five family members missing, a great miracle in itself:  my two grandchildren (with their dad) and my oldest nephew and his family.  Isn’t that a great looking family?!  I’m proud of them all!

Another news-worthy event and miracle is that RICK AND I HAVE FINISHED THE PLUMBING AT THE RENOVATION HOUSE!   WHOOP!  You have no idea how relieved we are to have that job completed!  It was a major job; after we uncovered the pipes when we pulled down all the drywall, we discovered a hodge-podge of unglued, mismatched pipes and several places that had leaked, one of them a toilet above the kitchen.  Yuck!  We ripped all the drains and water lines, added a half-bath, and now have all new plumbing for 3-1/2 baths.  Never thought I’d have a house with that many bathrooms, but I think we’ll need them if the Lord tarries!

Saturday night is our church’s Christmas program.  Can you believe it’s arrived so quickly?!  With only seven weeks of preparation (you remember the story) and many helping hands, Brianne M. has done a dynamite job pulling this together.  I’m really proud of her first efforts as a program director, and she exhibits great potential as a church leader.  The program is entitled “The Miracle Worker.”  

I love reading about the miracles of Jesus while he was on earth:  He made water into wine, cured demoniacs, cleansed the lepers, healed the sick, raised people from the dead, fed thousands of people from simple meals, blasted a fig tree, and the big one, raised Himself from the dead with the keys of death and hell.  The last verse of the Gospel of John says, And there are also many other things which Jesus did, the which, if they should be written every one, I suppose that even the world itself could not contain the books that should be written.  Amen.  To know the Gospels are not exhaustive is exciting to me!   The possibilities of miracles are endless!  Hallelujah!

I’m looking for those Christmas miracles!  I don’t think meeting Fabio will happen, but then, I haven’t pray for it, either.  🙂  Merry Christmas!

God bless you.  God bless Israel.  God help America.  God bless Elizabeth Edwards who was told today that more cancer treatments will be “unproductive.”  Pray for her.

7 Comments

  1. Glenda / Dec 9 2010 2:21 PM

    What a wonderful, large family you have! Glad you had a great Thanksgiving. Fabio can’t possibly be that old! I’ll have to google him and look for a current picture. Couldn’t leave a comment on your post about Jefferson, but thanks for sharing the pictures of the Candlelight tour. I’ve always wanted to go, but usually end up in Jefferson during the summer months.

  2. Mary / Dec 8 2010 4:42 AM

    I love how your posts either make me smile or make me think!

    I hope you and the big family of yours have a most Merry Christmas. I had a pastor once who would often say that he hoped Jesus would return at Christmastime. We can only hope it would be this year!

  3. Rayanne / Dec 7 2010 7:47 AM

    Love reading your catch ups. This is a busy time, but what time isn’t these days. Thanks for stopping by, I am purposely slowing down through this season. If you can…there is a blog party in The Woodlands this wed, night 7 pm…can you come???? I would love to meet you.
    Anyway…always good to here from you dear friend!

  4. Vickie / Dec 6 2010 10:14 PM

    Hey Gib – I see your Jefferson trip produced a cute header photo! Love it!

    Good post – and you’re right – that is one good-lookin’ family!

    Man, a long time ago, like when I was in my 20’s, I read trash novels for a while, and thought Fabio was pretty hunky, but I haven’t seen a pic of him in a long time. Still pretty hunky, huh? But then, I’ve aged, too. Fabio was almost too purty. I’d love to see him with short hair tho…

    Be sure and show us some pics of the Christmas thing. It sounds really neat. I’m gonna try to go hear Mom’s Christmas program at their church Sunday night. I love Christmas music. I prefer traditional, but anything that is purty and gets the birth of Jesus across is great to me!

    I’ve been eyeing my curtains, too. Glad you got your plumbing done – now SLAP UP SOME SHEETROCK AND GET YOUR BUTTS MOVED INTO THAT CUTE HOUSE!!!

    Big hugs!! Vick

  5. Debby Pucci / Dec 6 2010 9:43 PM

    Awesome post Debbie. We saw Fabio in LA once but that was many years ago but it was so cool! Wow that lemon is huge. Sounds like you have been very busy at church.
    God is awesome. Your family is beautiful, you are very blessed. So glad you got that plumbing done, that’s a huge accomplishment. Have a wonderful holiday. ((HUGS))

  6. tanna / Dec 6 2010 7:15 PM

    Looks like your family had the best kind of Thanksgiving, one together!! A BIG Woo Hoo for finishing your plumbing! I know that was a really big job! Let us know if there is any further Fabio development. hee hee

  7. Deb / Dec 6 2010 6:58 PM

    great looking family…you are a busy bee….

Comments are closed.