Skip to content
December 4, 2010 / dcwisdom

One of My Favorite Places in the World

Howdy!  So much time has passed since I’ve talked to you.  I hope this post finds you well and in the Christmas spirit.

I have so much to tell you, plenty of tales and too many for one post, so let me begin by showing you where Mom, Rick, and I went this evening. 

If you’ve read me long, you know that I love going to Jefferson, Texas, one of the oldest towns in Texas and the furthest inland river port in Texas:  a historical place with great history and fascinating stories.

Each December, Jefferson hosts the Candlelight Tour of Homes.  Guided tours of these magnificent, historical homes are available to the public for a pittance, with guides dressed in period costumes, Victorian ensembles caroling  traditional Christmas songs, and a cup of  steaming wassail waiting for each visitor at the end of her touring journey.

My favorite house on this tour was the Beard House.

For houses to be on tour, 80% of the lighting has to be by candle, and all the foliage has to be natural.  In these pictures, I’ve bumped up the exposure so you can see more detail, but each of the pictures was fairly dark.

The table above is actually a “virgin” piano.  When asked what a virgin piano is, the guide said that young girls were given lessons on pianos like this one.  Don’t know if that’s particularly true, but the piano is a square grand piano manufactured in the 1860’s.

The story on the grandfather clock is that it was shipped to Jefferson from England in the 1990’s.  The ceilings in this house are 14 feet, and this piece of history fits well into this room.

This diningroom has an antique walnut table with seven leaves, stretching its length to 11 feet.

This gorgeous Limoges china decorated the table, and the chairs were recovered in the owner’s own needlepoint artwork.

Know what this is?  Looks like a big planter, but it’s actually the house’s old well which was once on the back porch.  In the 1950’s, the owner enclosed the porch around the well.  The well can still be used if necessary.

I wish I had the time tonight to give you more history, but since the clock is approaching 3:00 a.m., I’ll say “good morning” and pass out.  Rick will surely want me up and about a little later.  We have the LAST OF THE PLUMBING!!!! to finish later today.  Believe me, we will celebrate tonight!

Oh, one last thing.  Remember my two earlier incidents with Joan Rivers and the trees?  Well…Joan and I had our third run in Thanksgiving day.  I’ll be posting about it soon.  Just wait til you see it.  *sigh*

Peace and love.  God bless you.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

7 Comments

  1. Mary Humphrey / Dec 5 2010 7:26 PM

    Beautiful! I want to sit on the porch, relax, even wear vintage clothing (for a short while). I love the first photo of the outdoor trees especially well.

  2. tanna / Dec 4 2010 8:53 PM

    Debbie, I have so wanted to go to the Candlelight Tour in Jefferson… things just always get in the way. So, a special thank you for sharing your visit with us! Jefferson is a really fun place. Merry Christmas!!

  3. Deb / Dec 4 2010 6:10 PM

    looks like alot of fun….love your header

  4. Diana Ferguson / Dec 4 2010 2:32 PM

    Ah, yes, Jefferson!! Glad you enjoyed. Have a blessed Saturday.

  5. Vickie / Dec 4 2010 1:48 PM

    You didn’t call me???? whine, whine. I’ll bet that was so fun! Are they doing this all month? I’ll bet that really gets you in the Christmas spirit, huh? Beautiful!
    AND I’m glad you’re getting your plumbing finished. On to the next step! Get that house finished, girl!

    Love ya!
    Vickie

  6. Debby Pucci / Dec 4 2010 11:38 AM

    Thank you for sharing. What a fun thing to do. I know I would enjoy an evening like that.

  7. Patty / Dec 4 2010 11:16 AM

    Don’t know if I ever told you this but I have a brother-in-law who lives in Madison,IN and they have a Christmas Tour of the old homes there. We haven’t been in several years but love to tour these old homes during the Christmas Season. Glad you have had a good time. Snowing here in IN today…up to 4 inches in Central IN but over 12 inches up around Lake Michigan in IN and IL.

Comments are closed.