Skip to content
November 24, 2010 / dcwisdom

Happy Thanksgiving To All

I love Charles Swindoll’s book  Wisdom for the Way:

Sometimes when you don’t feel like praying,
or you’re consumed with needing to speak to the Lord
but can’t gather the words,
try that old standby –
count your many blessings, count them one by one.
 
It’s amazing how you can get carried away
from worries and woes and self-concern
when you start naming out loud what you’re thankful for.
 
Right away
your focus shifts from your needs
to the Father’s graciousness and love.
 
Try it.
 
 
I am thankful for:
food to eat
my bed
running water
electricity
Rick’s job
a coat, shoes, socks, undies
my car with the broken shock
heat in the winter
air conditioning in the Texas summer
my reading glasses
iced tea
two televisions
indoor plumbing
washer and dryer
the pesticide people
the highway maintenance people
stores with millions of things to choose from
oil derricks
my trash man
books
hair color in a box
chocolate
music
and so on…
 
 
 
But the blessings I count dearest:
my relationship with THE GREAT I AM
through my Blessed Redeemer Emmanuel
and The Holy Spirit of God
RICK
my awesome children, daughter-in-law, grandchildren
our wonderful mothers and extended families
incredible friends – longtime and new
my home in America
the blessings of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness
the experiences of  this abundant life
and
a secured future in heaven
 

Years ago, someone asked me these two most important diagnostic questions of life: 

1)  If you were to die tonight, would you go to heaven?

2)  If you were to die tonight and stand before God, and He asked you, “Why should I let you into my heaven,” what would you say?

 

HAPPY THANKSGIVING! 

God bless you.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

6 Comments

  1. Stacey at Living by Faith / Nov 24 2010 9:52 AM

    Beautiful! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

  2. Debby Pucci / Nov 24 2010 9:50 AM

    Beautiful post. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving and Holiday Season.

  3. Debbie / Nov 24 2010 8:05 AM

    You pretty much covered all the ground there. I too am thankful most of all for my salvation. If we don’t get together here, Deb, I’m glad to know we can finally meet one another there! 🙂
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Mary / Nov 24 2010 4:23 AM

    Debbie, between you and Chuck Swindol, you’ve said it all. Some of us feel this way; some of you can express it in words. I love reading your blog.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, friend.

  5. Patty / Nov 24 2010 3:58 AM

    Very well put Debbie…Life is what we make it. And if you are for God you will count your Blessings…may not be the Blessings you want but it’s what God has given you (yes you!) as his child and in his own timing.

    Wishing you a very Blessed Thanksgiving. And those are very good questions to think on.

    Love ya.
    Patty

  6. Babygirl / Nov 24 2010 2:18 AM

    Love the picture.. and Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours

Comments are closed.