Skip to content
November 22, 2010 / dcwisdom

Saying Hello – I’m Still Kicking

Hey Blogging Friend and Others –  Hi Y’all!

Lately, I’ve kept up with most of you by email, and making my weekly blog visits, I’ve noticed that some of you have been really lazy getting those posts up.  Uh huh… What are your plans this week?

Heads up!  I need to announce that it’s VICKIE’s BIRTHDAY (November 22) at http://sandflatfarm.blogspot.com!   Actually, I think she hit the mark where she’s starting to count backwards.  Right, Vickie?  So please go by and give her a hearty birthday wish!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DEAR FRIEND!  I love you!

Remember me telling you about the Christmas program job?  Let me say that we hit the ground running.  With only six weeks to prepare a church-wide production, from my end, I have to say it’s such a cream puff job.  Our director, who’s 25, has beat her brains out on this thing, and I pretty much sat back watched.  Bless her heart.  I keep saying ‘give me something to do’ and she keeps saying ‘ok’ and then I have to beg for a job and end up appointing myself to finding loose ends.  All in all, I think she’s put together a dandy pageant in such a short time.  This afternoon was our first complete run-through which surprisingly ran fairly the well.

This last week, Brin’s been here preparing to take job about 500 miles away.  She and Millie will be leaving next weekend, and in the meantime, she made her first round of cheddar cheese.  I hope she’ll blog it; it was an interesting process.

Mom passed another birthday marker last week.  My sister K and I took her out for the day, shopping here and eating there; we had a lunner (very late lunch/very early dinner – I just made that up) at the Jalapeño Tree and stuffed ourselves.  Isn’t the birthday girl beautiful?!

Our waiter, Chiva, took the pictures.  Yes, her real name is Chiva.  Gave us her life story, sat and prayed the blessing with us, and pretty much adopted herself into our sisterhood.

And lookie what that dinner did to us!  Gave us all double chins.  Life’s not fair.  Don’t ya just hate it when pictures make you look so fat?!  (haha) 

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DEAR MOM, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!

I may see you later this week; depends if I can get my cornbread made for the dressing on Thursday and my ironing done.

Wishing you all a very happy Thanksgiving 2010! 

Peace and love.

7 Comments

  1. Patty / Nov 23 2010 4:46 AM

    Glad to see a new posting. Happy Birthday to your Momma! Enjoy her while you can! Mine passed away 4yrs. ago last May.

    Sorry to hear Brin has to move so far away but she will have a job and she will survive. Read her blog a lot too. In fact, I started reading her blog about a yr. before you started blogging. Friend of mine had read it and said I should read.

    Christmas is coming upon us so fast. Don’t even want to think about it until after Thursday. You girl’s look beautiful in your pic. Take care and let us hear how you are doing before Christmas.

  2. Glenda / Nov 22 2010 8:16 PM

    Happy birthday to your mom! Looks like you had a great lunner. Glad to see you blogging again!

  3. jeanette / Nov 22 2010 6:44 PM

    Debbie, I think y’all are beautiful, especially Mama. Good ole double chins run in my family as well so can empathize. I’ll be praying for Brin’s relocation and job endeavor.

  4. Vickie / Nov 22 2010 3:10 PM

    GIBLET! I’m still 39 and holding! No wait, lets make that 29 and holding! Thanks for the birthday shout-out! Wow I’m in good company with your mom’s birthday being this month, too! And guess where I ate lunch today???
    Jalapeno Tree! My future daughter-in-love took me to lunch today!

    And you know what – that ole Jalapeno Tree gave me a double-chin, too! What’s up with that? Do you think it can also give me a double derriere? haha!

    Love you bunches, friend – tell your mama Happy Birthday! You three girls are beautiful – you’re definitely related – we need to see an updated photo of the twins, if possible, if you could pass that along to K.

    me

  5. Debby Pucci / Nov 22 2010 11:16 AM

    You have been busy. Happy Birthday to you Mom, she looks beautiful. Sounds like a nice celebration. Nice to hear that you still iron, me too! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  6. tanna / Nov 22 2010 6:09 AM

    So glad to see a post, Debbie! Looks like you girls had a great time celebrating your Mom’s birthday!! As a mom, I know the very best part of her day was spending time with her children.

    Five hundred miles is a long way. Thank goodness for phones, blogs and Skype!! I’m sure Brin will be outstanding in her new job. Best wishes for her!!

    Happy, Happy Thanksgiving!

    PS I’m still waiting on that visit! =)

  7. Mary / Nov 22 2010 4:17 AM

    I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving celebration.

    It’s good to hear from you.

Comments are closed.