Skip to content
October 26, 2010 / dcwisdom

It Rained!

Hi, Y’all!

After a few weeks of being super busy (not really), I just dropped in on my own space to say “HEY! WHERE Y’ALL BEEN?”  🙂  

Well….I was sitting in Sunday morning church two weeks ago, minding my own business, enjoying the wonderful sermon on what a New Testament church is REALLY supposed to be, and the pastor stops in mid-sentence, and says, “Brianne M is conducting the Christmas program this year, and Debbie Wisdom is going to help her.” 

*swallow tongue* 

The woman (also Brianne’s grandmother) in front of me turned her head toward me and gave me the thumbs-up sign.  I leaned forward and said, “That’s the first I’ve heard about it.”  She and her husband died laughing.  So typical that I get volunteered for things like that.

Well, after an announcement from the pulpit like that, is there any way I can refuse?  I mean, if I don’t, the congregation will think I’m in rebellion to God.   Plus, I can’t leave Brianne out there by herself.  She’s 25, for heaven’s sake.  Very capable, but still.  Somebody has to take the blame for anything that goes wrong.  Might as well be me.

So, with six weeks before the grand Christmas presentation, we’re working our tushies off (and that’s a good thing for me to get mine worked off before Christmas so that I can eat fudge, even though I would eat it anyway) and praying for a meaningful, touching program for the community.  I solicit your prayers for us, please.

Hallelujah!  It finally rained after 10 weeks of dry, hot, cool, muggy, windy, cloudy, crystal-clear weather.  ‘Tis the season for air conditioning one day, heating the next; gorgeous mornings, tornadic evenings.  I just love October!

Rick and I now have a little time to work on the renovation house.  Last Saturday, we installed the water lines on the master bathtub and worked our way toward the toilet.  Finish the toilet and one more bathroom, and the water lines will be completed.  We’re hoping to get ‘er done this weekend.

Our church is hosting a fall festival on Saturday.  Rick signed up for the chili cook-off; this is the first cook-off he’s ever entered.  I’m eager to see if he will place since he makes the BEST chili EVER!  I will take my famous chocolate pie and a pumpkin pie to the cake-walk.  I love pie!

Has anyone put a fruitcake together yet?  So, do you LOVE fruitcake or LOATH fruitcake?  ‘Tis the season…

One more thing:  It’s Emily’s 20th birthday Thursday!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DEAR ONE!  And sending prayers for you for the success of your interview today.

Hallelujah, it rained!

Peace and blessings to ya!

11 Comments

  1. debbie / Oct 28 2010 7:37 AM

    I’d love to see that Christmas program. I know it will be wonderful. Glad you got rain; we just got a little too. I don’t usually make fruitcakes till just after Thanksgiving. We have a wedding on June 2oth. Can I borrow your skirt?
    Chicklet Deb

    • dcwisdom / Oct 28 2010 11:18 AM

      Chicklet, Ohmygosh — they’ve set the date!!!! Of course! You know you can use the skirt. Is the wedding there? Chickie and I may have to run up there for it. 🙂

  2. Deb / Oct 27 2010 6:55 AM

    must be in the name…seems like I get volunteered to do alot…but most of the time I enjoy it…take care

  3. tanna / Oct 27 2010 6:27 AM

    That’s an announcement that would be hard to refuse and I know you will do a wonderful job (I know they knew that too!!). Fall is such a fun time of year: festivals, chili cook-offs, mums and pumpkins, family, teasingly good temperatures! Love it!! Have a wonderful weekend, Debbie!

  4. Diana Ferguson / Oct 27 2010 6:20 AM

    Wow! You do have a lot of stuff going on! Good to hear from you. Happy Wednesday!

  5. Vickie / Oct 26 2010 11:03 PM

    Hey girlfriend – thought I’d stop by here and say hi again! I tried to comment on your last post, but I guess the ability to submit a comment cuts off after a few days??? Anyway I know you two will come up with a wonderful Christmas program!

    That chili is sounding real good especially since it’s supposed to cool off this weekend. Whyoncha box me up a piece of that chocolate pie and send over?? Sounds great!

  6. Stacey at Living by Faith / Oct 26 2010 8:49 PM

    I guess I would have to agree. Once the announcement is made from the pulpit there is little left to say about the matter. The pageant and the fall festival all sound wonderful. I can almost taste that chocolate pie. Mmm! Have fun!

  7. Debby Pucci / Oct 26 2010 8:10 PM

    You sure do sound busy! Love that you were a volunteer before your volunteered, that’s a good one. Good luck with the chili contest and Happy Birthday Emily.

  8. Rayanne / Oct 26 2010 6:08 PM

    I must say I would love to be at your fall festival. I love chocolate pie!And chili goes so well with chocolate.
    I am a fruitcake. Really though…I love a good fruit cake.
    Have fun my friend and eat some good chili and some pie for me!

  9. Patty / Oct 26 2010 3:08 PM

    Was wondering what happen to you? Busy! busy !Busy! That’s you. Praying for a wonderful Christmas Program that knocks people’s socks off. Hope the renovations of the bathrooms goes well. Are you ever going to get to move into this house before you have grandkids? And last but not least Happy Birthday Emily!! Hope it’s a good one. Hope to hear more from you soon Deb…love reading your blog.

    • dcwisdom / Oct 26 2010 5:22 PM

      Hi JoPatty — I just love your name! Girl, you just asked the million dollar question, and the answer is that I acquired two grandchildren with the marriage of my oldest son. So, no, we didn’t move into the house before we became grandparents. (It’s still odd to think of ourselves in that way!) We are hoping that 2011 is our banner year! And Patty, you know I looooove hearing from you — always! 🙂

Comments are closed.