Skip to content
October 11, 2010 / dcwisdom

That Sound Rolled Through Town

That sound.  None like it.  Harley Davidson.  I could hear and feel them before I saw them.

Living a quarter-mile off this major highway, I actually felt the deep roar of Harleys ripping down the five-lane ribbon of road all day and into the night.

All weekend, Harley riders travelled north and south along this NE Texas corridor.  The leading rider wore a shirt with “Fayetteville” on the back.  That’s about a seven hour ride from here.

Coming from the north…

…and coming from the south.

This orange bike rider gave me a little wave.

Rick worked at a place where fellow employees/HD riders had the nickname  “scooter trash.”  My apologies to all you great folks out there that ride Harleys.  I’m almost sure you really don’t care, though.  I mean, a Harley Davidson rider is a Harley Davidson lover.

I don’t understand the ergonomics of those handlebars.  Do your hands fall asleep?  Do your arms get tired?

Do you see Teddy on the backseat?  I thought he was too cute!  Some hog lovers are pure softies.

Are there any readers out there that can clue me in on the events of the weekend?  Next time, I’m going to play reporter and ask some questions.

Rick and I went to On The Border Friday night and then tripped over to the newly opened Academy (sports and outdoor) store.  They had the cutest rubber boots and some great looking kayaks. 

Wishing you peace and love this week…

6 Comments

  1. mary / Oct 12 2010 4:44 AM

    Yes, a lot of them are terrific people with scarey looks.

    We live on a main state road, and the sound of motorcycles all summer long drives us nuts! The Harley guys do a lot of fundraisers on this side of the country as well, so we have to just grin and bear it.

  2. Debby Pucci / Oct 11 2010 3:37 PM

    Wow, there were many of them. I would think that your arms must get tired!

  3. Vickie / Oct 11 2010 2:54 PM

    Hey Buddy! Those Harley riders can be softies sometimes, can’t they? I’ve seen/met some nice ones! I love the sound of their bikes, you always know it’s a Harley, can’t mistake that roar.

    I’ve wondered, too, about the handlebar thing – looks like on an especially long trip, their hands WOULD go to sleep. I guess you’d have to try it to know…

    I hope you have a fabulous week!

  4. Amber Morris / Oct 11 2010 9:26 AM

    They were going to the Boo Benefit in Jefferson. The riders come from all over the country. They are all really nice people and they give a LOT of money to help the burn victims. I have been there and seen their generosity first hand.

    Love ya,
    Amber

    • dcwisdom / Oct 11 2010 11:02 AM

      Thanks, Am! I should have thought to ask you first. Love ya back!

  5. dcwisdom / Oct 11 2010 7:39 AM

    Once again today, I hear them on the highway. But, I now know about the event: The bikers were attending the Boo Benefit Fun Run in Jefferson, Texas, to raise money for burn survivors. This event is in its 13th year with 30,000 riders who raised $205,000. Pretty awesome! Happy Monday to ya!

Comments are closed.