Skip to content
October 5, 2010 / dcwisdom

Yellow – Color and Light

I am not a therapist…

But I know this:  When I’m blue, I find something yellow.  When I’m in one of those quiet, reflective moods, the happiest thing I can find is something yellow.

What is it about yellow?  I love this color; I don’t want a wall of it, but I love those pops of yellow.

Recently on Facebook, a friend posted the thought-provoking question “In the dark, is there really color?” or something like that.  It was enjoyable reading the varied responses from college kids. 

The encyclopedia answer is:  Colors are only seen in the presence of light.  Where there’s no light, there’s no color.  Bright light reveals more intense colors while in fading light the colors fade.  Color is, in fact, the presence of light.

These beautiful flower petals absorb the yellow of the white light from the sun.  Isn’t science interesting?

The holy scriptures have much to say about light.  My Strong’s Concordance has over 260 references for light.  Now, I’m the girl who takes the scripture as truth, and I take the truth in context.  This fun thought passed through my mind while contemplating “color” and “light.”

The scripture says that Jesus is the Light of the world.  He created the light.  In Him, there is no darkness.

If there is every color represented by the Light and men were created in His image, is it fair to say that every race of men represent God Himself?  Have you ever thought about the many sizes and shapes of noses?  Fingers?  Toes?  Eyes?  What about people color? 

Independent of color, people are all the same.  We have the same anatomical and physiological traits, the same makeup of cells, organs, systems, the same emotional and physical needs.  The little (illegal) Mexican maid on the news today made no iconic news-flash statements, but she reminded us that all people are the same, no matter their legal status.   She did not make this innuendo, but all people have the same spiritual needs, as well:  the need to worship, the need to seek God, and the need for a Savior.

Spiritually, if a person discovers himself in darkness and gloom, then he is without the Light, for where there is darkness, there is no light.  And, given the True Light of the world is Jesus, a person who opens his door to Jesus is given the Light.  Perhaps we believe in the Light but are choosing to be in a period of darkness.  Why?  Darkness brings us no comfort, no perspective, no vision. 

I still tell my adult children that nothing good happens after midnight and to be in the house at midnight.  The light is gone.  More deaths, more immorality, more crime, and more nonsense occurs in the night when it’s dark.  We think that no one sees us.  It’s easier to commit the forbidden and to hide in the dark.  We see no color, less definition.  Perspective and color are distorted.  Even in the physical daylight, we can still live in spiritual darkness and bondage.

God offers us a way out of the darkness and spiritual blindness.  He offers us a new way of life and living.  He offers us Light and color and perspective and beauty.  All through Jesus Christ.  Jesus is our Way, our Gate, our Light, our Bridge to God.

God is our Light.  God created us to live in The Light, to spread The Light, and to see the true colors of all His creation as beautiful.

Here’s another way to put it:  You are here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world.  God is not a secret to be kept.  We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill.  If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you?  I’m putting you on a light stand.  Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand — shine!  Keep open house; be generous with your lives.  By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.  (Matthew 5:14-16, The Message/Remix)

God bless you.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

6 Comments

  1. Rayanne / Oct 7 2010 9:33 AM

    Wow…yellow does make me happy!
    My sweet friend,
    I cannot tell you enough how your kind comments were the sweetest medicine for what my aching heart was going through. I treasure your prayers and friendship…bunches!
    I have shaken off the dust and I am dancing again….even if it’s a slow dance, I’m dancing!
    Thank you again, and again.
    Love you,
    Rayanne

  2. Vickie / Oct 6 2010 11:46 PM

    Great post, Gib. You’ve put it all out there. Thank you for that. You have a way with words, my friend. Amen.

  3. Debby Pucci / Oct 6 2010 9:18 PM

    What a beautiful post and I LOVE the flowers. Those pictures are aweseome. Yellow as always been my favorite color. Thank you for brightening my day.
    (well it’s almost dark outside but you know what I mean)

  4. debbie / Oct 6 2010 6:45 PM

    Your photos are knockouts! Good post, deep!!

  5. Diana Ferguson / Oct 6 2010 6:19 AM

    Love your “yellow” post!!! I hope you have a great day.

  6. mary / Oct 6 2010 4:35 AM

    Another great one! Thanks.

Comments are closed.