Skip to content
September 27, 2010 / dcwisdom

The Chair Exhibit – It Has Attitude!

Last week, I invited the Queen Mother (Mom), Kid #5 Mary and friend Rosa to attend the Four States Fair in Texarkana with me on Friday.   I had not attended the fair in a few years and had a hankerin’ to see the exhibits.  

We loaded up mid-morning and arrived around 11:00.  Not a gate open.  We finally found the livestock entrance and asked the gate-keeper about what time the fair opened.  Not until 4.  Phooey!

So, we drove back toward town trying to figure out what to do next.  We tossed about some ideas, and I then remembered that a friend had emailed me about a “chair exhibit.”  I know.  The mental image was not appealing.  Mom laughed, and the girls balked at the idea.  “Mom, really, a chair exhibit?  Please drop us off at the mall!”  However, I didn’t take a day off from my normal tasks to be a mall rat, and since I was driving, I turned and headed toward the TRAHC building downtown with much whining coming from the backseat. 

The exhibit is “Write on Art!  featuring ‘The Chairs’.” 

The story goes as such:

An old building near to the TRAHC (Texarkana Regional Arts and Humanities Council) building was being cleared, and the owners offered about 30 vinyl covered chairs to the council.  Having no use for the chairs, the council brainstormed and decided to offer them as art projects to area artists, council members, or anyone wanting to decorate a chair for auction to help TRAHC. 

The artists’ rules were simple:  Free reign!  Return the projects using all/parts of the chairs.  Most of the chairs were returned intact; a couple of projects used only parts.

This chair was turned on its back to reveal a theatre setting on the bottom and had very ornate detailing on the sides and the back.

“Dot” definitely screamed ATTITUDE!  The chair was accompanied by a lamp made entirely of plastic bottle caps.  Very cool!

My girls are talking with Charlotte, the TRAHC art director.  She explained The Horse,  the pièce de rèsistance.  The artists used chair parts, and the pictures behind Mom’s head showed the steps of the project. 

And here’s Mary, my 18-year-old, jumping off furniture in the museum…  Silly girl.  The chair is an example of the original condition of all the chairs used in the project. 

The girls then wanted to play on the fire escape of the building.  They had to add some “fun” to the boring chair exhibit.  Actually, we all enjoyed the display, and the project inspired the girls with art ideas to use with other home school friends.

One of the reasons I love this season of the year is wandering the area fairs and collecting ideas for Christmas gifts.  I have a new book I ordered from Amazon called One Piece Wearables, and I can’t wait to try some of the patterns.  I’ll be showing you some pieces as I make them.

Y’all have a lovely week.  See you in the funny papers.

10 Comments

  1. Debby Pucci / Sep 27 2010 8:28 PM

    It looks like it was fun. I enjoyed seeing them even if the girls were bored.

  2. Diana Ferguson / Sep 27 2010 7:36 PM

    Cute!!!

  3. Deb / Sep 27 2010 6:44 PM

    looks like an interesting exhibit…did you finally get to go to the fair?

    • dcwisdom / Sep 27 2010 7:23 PM

      Mary and Rosa caught the fair that night, but I still haven’t been yet. Maybe this week…

  4. Gay Vaughan / Sep 27 2010 4:10 PM

    Hey Debbie,

    I haven’t caught this yet, but my kids have visited. My sister-in-law made the horse…yeah, she’s artsy like that!

    • dcwisdom / Sep 27 2010 7:22 PM

      Oh, my gosh! It runs in the family! The Horse was awesome!

  5. Rayanne / Sep 27 2010 3:05 PM

    Those crazy art chairs….Wow!
    Cute pics of your girls!!

  6. jeanette / Sep 27 2010 1:53 PM

    Debbie, that’s the kind of exhibit I would have enjoyed seeing. The girls are so cute and I’m sure lots of fun to be around. Wish I could jump like Mary did in the pic! :0)

  7. Vickie / Sep 27 2010 1:43 PM

    Looks like ya’ll had fun WAY before the fair opened. Why don’t we see a pic of YOU jumping off the chair???

    Your girls are just darling, Gib! Hope I get to meet them one of these ole days!

    One piece thingies, huh? Well, now I’ll be looking forward to that! Take care!

    • Vickie / Sep 27 2010 1:43 PM

      Can we call ’em “onesies”??? 😉

Comments are closed.