Skip to content
September 24, 2010 / dcwisdom

Attitude Is Everything – Part II

Not long ago, I posted a picture that quipped, “Attitude is Everything.” 

Since, I been on a mental mission to find attitude.  I’m always on the lookout for anything that screams it.  

Recently, I gave a little tin building some attitude.  It had no color and nothing but wilted vines around it.  Since the building was in my mother’s backyard and near the deck where the wedding ceremony took place, we opted to clean it up and dress it up.  It’s not much, but the curtain and ornaments gave the garden shed better presence.

Not only have I searched for things with attitude, but also I like to read books and periodicals with positive messages.  Not that I adhere to a type of Tony Robbins’ positive thinking philosophy that one is able to conjure up good things with positive thought processes.  But being positive is magnetic.

A story is told of a great fire that swept through the laboratory of Thomas Edison.  When Edison and his son saw the fire was out of control, Edison told his son, “Go get your mother quick.  She’s never seen a fire like this!”  Later, as the family was surveying the smoldering ruins, Edison said, “Just think.  All our mistakes have been burned up, and we have a chance to start all over again.”

Vonette Bright, who wrote For Such a Time as This, said, “Trying circumstances are teaching ground…Many times we would like to have an outstanding ministry.  But before we can have a ministry, we must have a message.  How do we develop a message?  By experiencing the reality of God in all kinds of situations…He will take those circumstances, which from a human standpoint are tragic, chaotic, and frustrating, and make them into that which is meaningful, building, and constructive…As long as we resist God’s will and remain bitter, discouraged, and angry, God cannot do His work in our lives…He will use them to conform us to the image of Christ…This is a giant step toward becoming fulfilled as Christians.”  (emphasis mine)

A positive attitude is a paradigm shift for most of us.  Several months ago, I was going through a course offered through a life coaching program.  The leader asked me, “Debbie, what are your greatest challenges?”  I replied that I HAVE TO DO such and such, that I HAVE TO blahblahblah…  She challenged me back:  “No, you do not HAVE TO DO any of those things.  You CHOOSE TO DO them.”  I fussed with her a little, and then realized that a paradigm shift had occurred in my mind.  Almost everything we do in life is a choice.  I don’t HAVE TO sit with my parent day after day in the nursing home; I CHOOSE TO.  I don’t HAVE TO cook dinner everyday for my husband and children; I CHOOSE TO.  The things I choose to do taste a lot sweeter with a positive attitude. 

That’s a choice.  Attitude is everything. 

I like the story of S. Truett Cathy, the founder of the Chick-fil-A Company.  Faced with some difficult decisions at one point in his business, he gathered his company team which settled on two statements to the question Cathy’s son Dan posed:  “Why are we in business?  Why are we here?  Why are we alive?”  After much discussion, they summarized their collective corporate purpose:  1) To glorify God by being a faithful steward of all that is entrusted to us, and 2) to have a positive influence on all who come in contact with Chick-fil-A.

After seven years of a snail-paced renovation project at my house, I continually have to talk myself into a positive attitude.  I tell my neighbor who periodically asks about our progress that if I just had $50,000 to plunk down right now, I could finish in record time.   Yet, I don’t; thus, I have to give myself a good, strong talking to from time to time.  And nobody likes being around a crab.

That’s a choice. Attitude is everything.

There’s an old saying:  Whether life grinds down a man or polishes him depends on the stuff of which he’s made.

Peace and love.

4 Comments

  1. mary / Sep 25 2010 3:27 AM

    A wonderful message!

  2. Stacey at Living by Faith / Sep 24 2010 8:42 AM

    Love this!! This is so true! Everything we do is a choice. I have been trying to remind myself of that, and that I should do everything as if I am serving the Lord.

  3. Diana Ferguson / Sep 24 2010 6:24 AM

    Great post. I choose to have a good Friday!! I know you will, too.

  4. Patty / Sep 24 2010 2:19 AM

    How true!!

Comments are closed.