Skip to content
September 22, 2010 / dcwisdom

WHO.DID.THIS!?

Happy Last Day of Summer!!! 

I went early to renovation house to do some gardening and found evidence of furry friends preparing for winter.  The squirrels and Bella the Chihuahua have a game going.  Bella chases one to the nearest tree, the squirrel runs up 4 feet or so, turns around, and chatters and flicks his tail at Bella.  Drives Bella nuts!  It’s so funny.

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood…a beautiful day for a neighbor…

Wait…

Hold on…

Whaaaaaaaaa?????

WHO.DID.THIS?!  WHO DID THIS???

{dangdangdanganddoubledang}  What happened here?!

I’m puttin’ on for you.  I did it.  Moi.  And I’m cryin’ here.  Tears flowing down my face.  Whining.  Grieving.  *boohoohoohoohoo*

This is the first “accident” I’ve had in many years.  I was still so proud of my 11-year-old Suburban.  She still looked good.  Except for all the hail dents.  And the rear end where Kid#4 Sam backed into the preacher’s mailbox.  And the big scrape on the other side where I was hurrying to beat the descending railroad crossing arms.  And the scrape on the back fender where I backed into the SAME STINKIN’ TREE!

About 50 yards from the house, I have a group of tall pines around which several azaleas are planted.  Since I have no water faucets nearby, I fill 12 or 13 gallon jugs of water and carry the jugs on top of my car to the bushes.  I’ve hustled to keep these bushes alive this blistering summer, and those stinkin’ bushes have now cost me a MAJOR SIDESWIPE!

And, dangit, that tree, once again, appeared out of nowhere.  I suppose the angle at which I was backing was just enough to catch the shotgun door and mirror.  Now, the mirror is readjusted by the tree, and I get wind noise going 55 mph on the highway.

I left renovation house and drove to the nearest auto store and bought the closest spray paint to the car color.  At home, I lovingly hand-washed the old girl, apologizing to her profusely, and dried her gently.  *sniff*

The paint on my car is a dull pewter, especially after 11 years of traveling over 200,000 miles and experiencing maybe four car washes a year.  The spray paint was the same color except that it had sparkles in it.  This I did not notice until I began to spray.

Ok, scroll up for the ‘before’ and back down for the ‘after.’  Go ahead.

What do you think?  🙂  NOT TOO BAD, HUH? 

Nope.  Pretty bad.  You can see the baby’s ribs.  It’s definitely in need of my favorite body shop man Don.

So, I ended up using the entire can of paint.  I went around the car, spraying all the dents and dings and scrapes.  She’s all patched up now.  Kinda looks like Joan Rivers, an old girl with a BAD face lift.

Mary was home when I arrived, and she busted out laughing.  She said, “I’m only laughing because I’m glad I didn’t do it.  If I had done it, you’d be chewing me out.”  Yes.  I would.  “Wait til Dad finds out,”  she cackled.

{dangitdangitdangitanddoubledangit} 

I haven’t talked to him yet.  I might ground myself.  Y’all pray for me.

Peace and love.

7 Comments

  1. Debby Pucci / Sep 23 2010 5:33 PM

    You did do a nice job fixing it up, just like Joan!!
    Does she even look in the mirror? So your car is thin.
    I can imagine how you felt.

  2. Lois Christensen / Sep 23 2010 12:18 PM

    I find it funny how you’re referring to your car as Joan Rivers!

    Enjoy!

  3. Stacey at Living by Faith / Sep 23 2010 8:14 AM

    I am sorry that happened. Uggh! But you did have me laughing with the comparison to Joan Rivers. Your car sounds a lot like mine. I drive an 11 year old Explorer that has some dents and dings as well. I learned something from this post as well. I had no idea you could by cover up paint.

  4. Vickie / Sep 23 2010 12:06 AM

    I did that back in the summer, only I ding-danged up TWO cars – mine AND hayley’s! I just wanted to set down on the driveway and bawl my eyeballs out! I’ve had several mishaps backing up.

    I’m sorry this happened, and it’s even funnier with the spray paint story! tee-hee! Couldn’t resist, Gib! I kinda don’t think Rick’s gonna be too mad at this point!

    Let us know! Love ya!

    • dcwisdom / Sep 23 2010 2:13 AM

      Well, I told him. He said, “You must be getting old.” “What?” “That’s what old people do.” I said, “Ricky, it was an ACCIDENT.” Grrrrrr…

  5. dcwisdom / Sep 22 2010 11:22 PM

    Oh, by the way, please don’t worry about me. Rick might kill me, but I’ve been resurrected before! 🙂

  6. Rayanne / Sep 22 2010 9:04 PM

    Glad you’re ok…you really tell a funny story. I’ll be praying for you sister….so sorry that happened to you. Maybe he will not notice?????

Comments are closed.