Skip to content
September 10, 2010 / dcwisdom

The Groom’s Mama’s Dress

Hi, Dear Ones!  The big day is almost here.  Rich and Heather are very excited, and my MIL and children will all make their way here tomorrow.  Everything is looking so wedding-y.  Festive and fun.

During the past few weeks, I have pondered about what to wear.  Normally, I would have bought a dress much earlier, but I couldn’t find anything that appealed to me for this kind of country casual affair. 

It’s odd.  Women with larger families will relate here.  For years, we have lived on one income, and, of course, the growing kids always came first when buying clothing.  Mamas really get the short end, and I did.  The source of my clothes were women friends who regularly deleted their clothes like email, or my generous mother-in-law who is a shopaholic and gave me her clothes with tags still on them.  Of course, the clothes looked like my mother-in-law, which made me look like my mother-in-law, *cringe* but I was nonetheless grateful to have something new to wear.  Rick would comment, “You look like a granny,” and I would say back, “Go figure!”

The good thing about living the way I did was that I never really minded wearing used clothing, either.  I grew up wearing hand-me-downs, and I always had interesting clothes.  Some people get the heebeegeebees just thinking about wearing someone else’s clothes.  It just never bothered me.  Like my cousin once said to me, “I’m not a fashion plate.”  Neither was I, nor am I, still.

It’s become a fun challenge, instead of a necessity as it was years ago, to see how creative I can get with clothing.  Things go through my brain like ‘I think I’ll check Salvation Army first’ or ‘how can I make that?’  Which is what prompted me to ponder on a country casual groom’s mom’s dress.  Which is not really a dress.  More of an outfit.

On night while lying in bed, this idea came to me. 

I had several yards of this small white print on cream fabric.  I had sections of lace and Battenberg and tatted pillow shams.

I have a machine…

I measured lengths and widths and layers and lace and stitched…and this skirt evolved.  I think it took about four hours from start to finish. 

The silk blouse I’ve worn for several years, and I bought the lace overlay at Rue 21 for $19.99.  This groom’s mom’s ensemble cost me the price of the lace vest.  It’s a one-of-a-kind.  Mom gasped and squealed.

I think this will work.  Romantic.  I’ll wear pearls and golden-flowered sandals.  I kept my dress in line with the budget – again. 

Plan on seeing you on the other side of the weekend.  Have a good one!

Peace and love.

11 Comments

  1. Vickie / Sep 10 2010 10:42 PM

    You are an artist with a sewing machine, girl! That dress will be absolutely perfect for a country wedding at home! It’s beautiful, Deb!

    I can’t wait to see all the wedding photos. I know this weekend is gonna be so busy — remember we’re all so happy for your family and we’ll be thinking of you all!

    ((((hugs!)))) Vickie

  2. Glenda / Sep 10 2010 7:12 PM

    It’s going to be perfect, Debbie! Can’t wait to see the wedding pics!

  3. Tara / Sep 10 2010 6:24 PM

    You go girl! Such talent. I know you are excited about the wedding. I’ll be praying the weather cooperates too. Excited for you.
    hugs,
    tara

  4. Stacey at Living by Faith / Sep 10 2010 11:41 AM

    I am so impressed! You are so creative!!

  5. Carolyn / Sep 10 2010 11:08 AM

    Love it, Love it….you will be the prettiest there next to the bride. I want to see tons of pictures, am so excited for them and you too. Have a blessed weekend…..

  6. Debby Pucci / Sep 10 2010 9:52 AM

    I love it, it’s very pretty and country. I think it will be perfect for this wedding. Have a wonderful time and I wish them a lifetime of happiness.

    • Karin / Sep 12 2010 9:42 PM

      You are absolutely GENIUS!!! LOVE IT!! Can’t wait to see pics of the wedding, cake, decor, details…I KNOW it was beautiful!! Hurry and post…please!!
      love Rich.

  7. Rayanne / Sep 10 2010 8:12 AM

    I Love It!!!! Wonderful idea….and soooo pretty! Way to go.

  8. Deb / Sep 10 2010 7:32 AM

    You’re absolutely amazing. I think your skirt is lovely. You sure have a talent for sewing I don’t have. Hope the wedding is wonderful, I know it will be. Enjoy!
    Deb

  9. Deb / Sep 10 2010 6:09 AM

    well now you know…an anyone that reads your blog…but that’s okay…

  10. Deb / Sep 10 2010 6:09 AM

    love it….I shop thrift stores my clothes…and no one even knows it….

Comments are closed.