Skip to content
August 30, 2010 / dcwisdom

Airporting and the Dallas Cowboy Report

Ever since Rick and I were newly married, he’s had this fascination with small aircraft.  Years ago, Rick found a flight instructor, took lessons, and fell in love.  Not with the old, grisly instructor.  With flying.  He loves small planes.

Kid #5 Mary is the dare angel of the family.  Her most spectacular feat was bungeeing over Colorado’s Royal Gorge!  Give the kid an adventure and she’s game. 

Put the two of them together, and what a combination!

And they’re off…

Practicing a touch down…

Something the Dallas Cowboys know very little about!  So, did you see Jerk Jerry Jones throw his water bottle?  That was classy.

And what was Romo grinning about?!  I know this is pre-season, but they all looked like junior high girls out there.  I knew I should have reported to training camp this summer.  I could have shown them a thing or two, like how NOT to fumble a football.  Yeah…  I know plenty of people, grandmas and wannabes, who would play just as bad for Dallas for half the money.  Just pitiful.  Wouldn’t you love to see a bunch of Betty Whites out there?

A message to Jerry Jones:  Call Betty White.

Peace.  Have a great day!

8 Comments

  1. Glenda / Aug 31 2010 6:28 PM

    You’re not thinking of joining a football league, are you? Those uniforms are so tight your depends would surely show! I’m not happy with the Cowboys but I’m sure I’ll still be watching those games, even without Betty White.
    Have you gone flying with your husband? I love flying in small planes, even though I’ve had some harrowing experiences due to bad weather. Maybe you’ll eventually have two pilots in the family! Go, Mary!

  2. debby9972 / Aug 31 2010 11:51 AM

    How exciting for them. Little plans are not my friend but I bet it’s a blast!

  3. Stacey at Living by Faith / Aug 31 2010 7:47 AM

    Your Betty White suggestion made me laugh. You know she is having quite the come back year! I think it is so special that your hubby and youngest have a special interest to share. She is MUCH braver than me. I can not even imagine bungee jumping let alone over the Royal Gorge.

  4. Tara / Aug 30 2010 11:56 PM

    I’m with Deb. Don’t watch much football anymore. Might if Betty White were on the team too. She is a riot.
    I’m too scared to fly in lil planes like that anymore. Heck, I don’t even like driving over high bridges! Something happened after I had kids. Just not so daring anymore.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  5. Vickie Fears / Aug 30 2010 11:07 AM

    I second the other two comments about the Cowboys. I’ve not been watching much Cowboy football the last few years. Not because they haven’t been winning. I’m so disappointed in the players and the way they live their lives sometimes – well, alot of sports. ‘Spose to be heros to our kids, but some of them fall way short.

    Now, look at that gal wanting to go flying! Is she her daddy’s daughter or what! Does she want flying lessons? I used to be adventurous like that until I had kids. That did it. Couldn’t do anything daring or foolhardy anymore – gotta raise my babies. So, I say, ‘MARYANNA – GOT FOR IT NOW KID!!!’

  6. Linda Sue / Aug 30 2010 10:39 AM

    Boy I sound like a grouch – I do things which are fun – just not as high risk as I used to – and the Cowboys don’t seem all that much different from the other pro sports teams – nobody who plays seems to love the game of football anymore

  7. Linda Sue / Aug 30 2010 10:38 AM

    Cowboys are definitely stinking it up already – so sad – all those multimillionaires and not even looking like they are trying to win. Those dumb grins say Oh well – I get my paycheck no matter what
    Exciting about the small plane flying – I’m no longer as adventuresome as I once was – a bad experience white water rafting has cured much of my desire to pay money to be maimed, terrified and generally not having fun!

  8. Deb / Aug 30 2010 10:00 AM

    I don’t watch football…but if they brought in Betty White I might…lol..gave my Hubby a flying lesson for Christmas one year…he loved it..

Comments are closed.