Skip to content
August 27, 2010 / dcwisdom

It’s Birthday Season

Hey, Friends! 

I’ve tried to read up on you all lately; I’ve really missed you!   This will be a short visit today.   It’s Friday, and Rick will be on his way home shortly.  The house needs some attention, and I still need to go to the grocery store to pick up homemade ice cream makings and dill pickles.   (I can hear you now.  No, I’m too old to be pregnant – you know better!)  Jeremiah’s girlfriend is throwing him a big birthday party tonight, and my contribution is ice cream and potato salad.  It feels really weird to be letting my boys’ girlfriends take the birthday party reigns, but I could get used to it very quickly.

Does time not pass quickly?!  Eighteen years ago, this child jewel was born into this world, given to Rick and me, a precious gift, and what a lovely person she is!   That’s Brin under Mary holding up her hands.  Brin is such a wonderful big sister and amazing daughter!

Whoops!  FedEx is here…………….ok, I’m back.

I love these girls!   They are beautiful!

Rick will absolutely kill me for posting this picture, but it’s just too funny not to share!  Don’t you need a chuckle?  He’s such a good sport and makes a good-looking birthday girl, doncha think?  We’re just a family of nuts.

In two weeks’ time, Rick, Kid #3 Jeremiah, Kid #4 Sam, and Kid #5 Mary all have birthdays (August 20, 21, 29, and Sept. 3), and we spend a great amount of time celebrating, laughing, and eating.  Heather’s birthday is August 1 and two of my BILs have birthdays in August.  It’s a very busy month in addition to back-to-school activities.  Thank the Lord for the tax-free weekends in Texas!!!

Welp, my time is up here.  Time to get back to chores, shopping, and partying.  Remember this:  Kids are a great comfort to you in old age, and they help you reach it faster, too. 

Have a wonderful weekend!

4 Comments

  1. Rayanne / Aug 27 2010 6:25 PM

    How wonderful! I enjoyed your post and had a big smile the whole time…what fun, tell your darling daughter Happy Birthday from one of your bloggy friends for me! Loved, loved the pic of hubby and daughter…classic!

    • dcwisdom / Aug 28 2010 9:41 AM

      Rayanne, I’ve tried to access your blog but I’ve been “permission denied.” I think you’ll have to send me an “invitation to read” before I can read it again. Did you change something? I’ll also email you. Thanks, Debbie

  2. debby9972 / Aug 27 2010 12:56 PM

    Fun, fun, fun! Wow, lots of celebrations going on at your house. Great pictures. Have a nice weekend.

  3. Vickie Fears / Aug 27 2010 12:37 PM

    Hey, you! Loved this post! I’m glad to see that my husband is not the only goofball around! Boy could I show you some pictures! August is a busy month for you guys! (And Expensive!) And on top of that – the WEDDING! You’ll have to add an anniversary to August!

    I hope ya’ll have a wonderful weekend!!! Love ya!

Comments are closed.