Skip to content
August 14, 2010 / dcwisdom

Wren, Vireo, or Sparrow?

I’m not a big bird watcher, but this summer I have enjoyed a little family who made their home not even a foot from my kitchen sink.  Come on, bird lovers, help me out on the species, please – a percher, yellow mouth – looks maybe like a sparrow or wren.  Mama birds are the hardest for me to recognize.

About two months ago, I had a lovely, full begonia hanging on the plant hanger.  I normally reserve the hanger for the hummingbirds, but for some weird reason, I hung a pretty, pink begonia outside my kitchen window.

Not long afterwards, I spotted a mama bird with pine straw, grass, and leaves in her mouth, rooting her way deep into my plant.  I decided to let nature have its course, and the little nest grew and grew.

The little mama actually digged a fine, deep, dark hole in my lovely begonia and laid several eggs.  Some days, I would actually disturb her homely duties and water the plant.  She would rush out of the nest, and as soon as I went inside, back she would come.   

Today, the little birdies flew the nest.

I’ve never had the privilege to see little birds leave their mama’s nest.  It was a miraculous experience.

Out from the nest popped another chickadee.  I love their bright yellow mouths. 

Ok, bird lovers, name that bird!

The little boogers blended in so well with the ground that I had to follow their little “peeps” to find them.  Aren’t they the prettiest little things?

Being a home school mom for many years, this would have been a great science lesson for my little ones.  And, as I sit here thinking, this narrative could go in many directions, but I think I’ll just quote Jesus:  Are not two sparrows sold for a penny?  Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father.  And even the very hairs of your head are numbered.  So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.  (Matthew 10 NIV)

Sparrows are common birds, but God knows exactly when one falls to the ground.  That’s how omniscient God is!  He’s even knows our head hair count.  Now, that’s something, considering how many hairs collect in my bathtub drain every day!  But, that’s how omniscient He is!  And, that’s how much we are valued and loved and known by God.

YOU — YOU are loved, YOU are noticed, YOU are valued by God!  God “emptied his nest,” sending His only beloved son to die for you, to be your sacrifice for your sin.  But, the most amazing thing happened:  Jesus conquered death by resurrecting His own body!  That’s how omnipotent He is!  By His own power, He beat death!  Nobody else has ever accomplished that!

That’s why the only person that can save anybody is Jesus.  He is the only one who ever saved himself from a permanent death.  The only ONE!  Most amazing!   And, He’s the only One who can save you from permanent, eternal destruction TO the most fantastic, eternal life ever!

I’m going to thump my Bible more often, and I’ll be watching the events unfold in Israel as our world’s final hour is rapidly approaching.

God bless you.  God bless Israel.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God help America!

8 Comments

  1. Vickie / Aug 15 2010 4:30 PM

    Not sure about the bird. Wren? That would be my first guess – who said swallows? Maybe so. I’ve got swallows, too, but I haven’t seen them as close up as you have.

    Good lesson – I just read Tanna’s post on the mosque in Manhattan and what our infamous president Obama had to say about it. I think your post and her post kinda go hand in hand. We MUST have our Lord as our Saviour no matter what happens in our country. Looks like it’s going to the dogs under Obama!

  2. tanna / Aug 14 2010 9:55 PM

    I can’t help on the name of the bird, but I do so appreciate the beauty of God’s creations… He gifts us with treasures every day!

  3. toni stringer / Aug 14 2010 2:34 PM

    On another note. is that a tumbler in your blog pic? Everyone knows I’m crazy about circles. Did you make it?

    • dcwisdom / Aug 14 2010 10:19 PM

      Toni, you won the prize!!! Yes, it is a tumbler that I bought earlier in the summer at — where else? — Wal-Mart! I was sitting on my deck drinking tea and started looking at that thing, thinking, if I took a picture and cropped it, it would make a good blog background. I like the colors — just kinda funky lookin’. Thanks for noticing.

  4. toni stringer / Aug 14 2010 2:30 PM

    Loved the wonderful message! Loved the birdie pics too. Just don’t take to kindly to them when they build mud nests in the corners of my carport and every exit of my house. Very messy. And they live there, raising babies from spring to fall! Now that’s wearing your welcome out. Plus, they swoop your head if you dare come out of the house. I do love watching my little hummingbirds though. Funny, fiesty, tiny creatures, and they live in the trees like good little birds! Just sayin’.
    Tara: did you tell Debbie about our hum.bird, firefly, dragon fly experience?

    • dcwisdom / Aug 14 2010 10:26 PM

      YOU have swallows! I’ve had them and fought them tooth and nail. Finally, we figured we were smarter! than those birds and rigged up a way to keep them off the ledges with decorative blocks in the corners or triangular blocks with a right angle nailed along edges. We painted them so they blend in, and no more swallows. That’s the only good remedy we found. They love barns and open carports and ledges, anywhere with a space to build their messy mud nests. Nasty!

  5. Deb / Aug 14 2010 9:36 AM

    I’m not sure what it is, but I know what it isn’t. It isn’t a sparrow. Possibly a wren? Bet she left a mess in your begonia, huh! 😀

  6. tara / Aug 14 2010 8:32 AM

    Hey Deb!
    I’m a bird watcher too, but don’t know what kind that is. Maybe a wren? Not sure. Great pics. Loved the lesson and connection to His word. You will always be a teacher even though your kids are all grown.
    Hugs,
    Tara

Comments are closed.