Skip to content
July 27, 2010 / dcwisdom

This One’s NOT George W’s Fault

I finally found something that is NOT W’s fault!  God bless ‘im!

I have always loved to dance.   It must have been Elvis and his gyrating hips!  Or Patrick Swayze’s Dirty Dancing!   

My love of dancing developed when I was a kid.  It was Elvis and American Bandstand.  On Saturdays, when we could, we kids would glue our eyes to American Bandstand and try to imitate the giggling and hopping of those cool cats on TV.   Since there were only ballet and tap classes only in the larger towns, we country kids were left to our own devices.

I have a question for you.  What did you do when you were not invited to a dance?  Back when I was a kid, boys did the asking, and if I didn’t get asked, I sat at home.  No one attended a dance without a date, and it was AWFUL to not be asked to a dance.  Embarrassing.  I hated listening to the stories from the other girls the next school day.  I really wouldn’t have cared which boy asked me, because all I wanted to do was dance. 

I loved the high school dances, and I always had a dance partner.  Not that we did any fancy dancing at all, but we were there moving to the beat, laughing, and having a good time.  Depending on who my date was, the slow songs were our favorites, and it was an excuse to get close and be publicly romantic.  Not vulgar, but romantic.

I suppose in my early adult years, I developed this religious snubbing to dancing.  But, that was Patrick Swayze’s fault, for sure.   When I saw Dirty Dancing, I could feel the heat and sexual excitement it was meant to spawn, and I felt the movie was the turning point for decent dancing. 

From that point in time, I viewed dancing as something to avoid, especially in allowing my children to attend dances.  Dancing is the precursor for other physical activities, and you know what I mean.  I can now understand why my dad was not a fan of dancing.  He knew exactly what dancing does to the mind and body.

So, I didn’t dance again until I took a few ballet lessons many years ago, and my interest returned.  Not just in traditional dance but in all types.  While in Branson not long ago with Rick, I selected the show with the young Irish dancers, the ones with the energy of the atomic bomb!  After two hours of dancing, those kids tried to energize the audience, but our energy level went down the drain after the first hour.  I think some of the really old people were nodding off.  It was past their bedtimes.

Kid #5 Mary and I, one September/October, took a ballroom dancing class at the local college.  Oh my gosh — so much fun!  We learned 12 basic dance steps, a few being the waltz, salsa, cha-cha, fox trot, box step, tango…  I can’t tell you the fun we had!

Then, I saw the Zumba.  I think I should have tried Richard Simmons first.  This is some crazy dance!  Talk about hip-moving, leg-shaking, stomach-crunching dancing.  This just might be the answer to my-lack-of-flat-belly (read:  big belly) problem.  My thing is just getting the energy to move instead of watching.  These video girls are incredible; I’m mesmerized by their energy.  That’s the energy I want again! 

The question is:  Can a 54-year-old woman do the Zumba?  I don’t know.  All I can do is try.  I’ll probably laugh my way through it.  Who knows?  When I can finally get all my parts working in sync, maybe I can perform a lap dance for Rick.  That should get him all shook up!  (I can hear all my kids groaning now.)

Well, tonight is a softball double-header, so I’d best get up and do 20 minutes of Zumba to loosen up, and, hopefully, not the wrong parts. 

No, we can’t blame dirty dancing on W.

See you in the funny papers.

10 Comments

  1. tanna / Jul 31 2010 1:55 PM

    I just can’t work up the courage to take my nigh-on 54 self to a Zumba class… I think it sounds like fun!! I’m just somehow intimidated… could it be I am so out of shape now… that I might be the oldest one in class… Based ont he comments here, I could be wrong about being the oldest in class! Keep us posted!

  2. Stacey at Living by Faith / Jul 28 2010 5:42 PM

    I recently saw a Zumba infomercial. It looks like so much fun. I sat there and made Paul watch it with me. Needless to say, he didn’t share my enthusiasm. Keep us posted on how you like it. I just may need it.

  3. V (stickhorsecowgirl) / Jul 28 2010 12:05 AM

    I had dinner with a girlfriend tonight who is 60 and she goes to Zumba class–says its great fun– loosey-goosey and easy to do,so I’m gonna go to you-tube and check it out. See if my fifty something year old body can take it! lol Actually, I’m for sure going to get a hula hoop–no not one like I had as a kid but a “big girl” one that weighs about 1.5 lbs. Yes, there are even hooping studios in some cities like Nashville! All the rage! Well, I think I can do it at home! I wanna firm up that core so I can eat that peach cobbler. Oh, I caught the microwave on fire one time–was zapping an ear of corn with the husk on (which I had neglected to soak in water) and the dry husk caught on fire! Scared me to death and there is still a burned spot in the inside of my microwave to remind me! Sent a little prayer up for you mom–hope all goes well. V.

  4. Linda Sue / Jul 27 2010 7:42 PM

    I have a blogger friend who is older than you and she loves the zumba. I believe it is the lack of perfection required for the moves – that and her abdomen responded faster to zumbaing than to crunches! I am a horrible dancer – used to two step a lot but took some alcohol to get me out on the dance floor (alcohol in me not on the floor). Get your zumba on and enjoy the ball games.

  5. Vickie / Jul 27 2010 6:39 PM

    How ’bout ‘pole dancing”? I have a couple of friends that Zumba, but I’ve not tried it – WHEN would I have the time! Let me know if you like it – and let us all know if you do a lap dance for Rick!

    My momma and daddy wouldn’t let us dance either. But when I got to high school I was in the drill team and it got me to dance. AND our coach MADE us come to all dances and sock hops, so I got around my folks that way. By then, they told me to make my own decision. I went, and thank goodness, nothing came of it. I just had fun!

    I got to chaperone some of my kids’ dances in school. Now THAT was fun!

    YOU are a funny, funny girl!

  6. Tara / Jul 27 2010 5:37 PM

    OMG! you are so hilarious. I LOVE TO DANCE AND SO DOES CLAY. I better not let him read your post though. LOL….
    So glad to be back in the bloggy world. Have missed you.
    Hugs,
    Tara

  7. Tara / Jul 27 2010 5:36 PM

    OMG! YOU ARE SO HILARIOUS.

  8. Tara / Jul 27 2010 5:35 PM

    OMG! You are so hilarious. I LOVE TO DANCE!!! and SO DOES CLAY.

  9. Debby Pucci / Jul 27 2010 4:55 PM

    I have heard things about Zumba and I know a blogger who is older then you who loves it. With my asthma I can’t do allot. Dirty Dancing is the best. I loved dancing in HS. However my husband and I don’t dance much, we never have. We actually didn’t even do a wedding dance because he doesn’t like to dance. I agree, dancing is/can be a big turn on.

  10. Mary / Jul 27 2010 4:33 PM

    I don’t even know what the zumba is! See ME in the funny papers!

    If I am in a super good mood I can dance. What kind of dance? I don’t know.

    A lap dance…how there’s a thought. My husband would have me committed I do believe. Good luck with that!

    By the way, a 54-year-old woman, can do it! 🙂

Comments are closed.