Skip to content
July 22, 2010 / dcwisdom

Whispering Hello

Ah, the quietness of summer…

Mind you, quietness not from the occupants in my house.   High school and college age kids are rarely quiet, you know, with yelling during TV baseball games, rough housing, eating, playing with Bella, the chihuahua…  Even their constant movements are noisy.   

No, I’ve been rather quiet myself the last few days.  I didn’t take a sabbatical from speaking; rather, my voice took a vacation from me.  It decided to leave me last Friday.  Following a raspy, sore throat, along came laryngitis and a summer cold.  That stuff rather lends itself to quietness…and naps…and reading… 

Nobody really wants to be around me.    *ah-choo*

So, I’ve been doing the quiet activities, like…

…watching my pet dragonfly.  Mr. Blue Eyes kept nodding his head at me – up, down, swivel… 

…watching the little lady beat off all her “friends” that wanted to sit at the dining table…  These buzzing, warp-speed birds are not hospitable at all…

…watching the peaches ripen, and, now, it’s time to harvest peaches!  Like my good friend Vickie from Sand Flat Farms, or maybe I should say “unlike” her beautiful bounty, my funny peach trees are such a dichotomy of nature.  Half of this crazy tree has small, undeveloped peaches, and the neighboring limb has these gorgeous girls on them.  Weird.  Can anyone explain that?

Yesterday, my neighbor and I picked a basketful of figs from her humongous fig tree…

…and, today, I made fig preserves.  Beautiful, golden-brown, sweet preserves.   Yummmmmm…

It made for a quiet day – after I sneezed my way through Wal-Mart this morning.  (Yes,I covered and wiped my buggy clean when I left!)   I had to pick up more NyQuil and a new sports bra for the girls’ softball games.  🙂

This week, my mom had to return to the doctor’s office in Dallas for a report from her last check-up.  She had to have a biopsy, again, and we’re waiting for the test results.  After a year of  craziness (my dad’s illness and death, and Mom’s cancer diagnosis, radiation, surgery, recovery, and an “all clear” report in March, we are praying for a minor blip on the radar screen with this biopsy.  Two of my sisters were able to accompany her, and I’m always grateful for their love and ministry to Mom.  When you think of my mom, would you please lift her to the Throne of the Most High God and ask for her total healing?  I will be most grateful to you, thank you.

God bless you all.  Enjoy your weekend if we don’t talk before then.  *ah choo, sniff*

See you in the funny papers.

8 Comments

  1. mary / Jul 25 2010 4:56 AM

    Will keep both you and your mom in my prayers. Please keep us posted. Hugs.

  2. Debby Pucci / Jul 24 2010 8:39 PM

    Sorry about your voice. Hope you feel better soon. The pictures are beautiful. I will keep your mother in my prayers.

  3. Carolyn / Jul 23 2010 10:26 AM

    Hope you are feeling better, I myself am on the second go round with the crud….prayers lifted up for your Mother, please keep us informed. I am jealous of the figs, but not the peaches…had a peach tree, and we have way too many squirrels that love peaches, and oh what a mess in the yard. I need a fig bush, maybe I shall request that……..

  4. Diana Ferguson / Jul 23 2010 6:21 AM

    Hope you are feeling better. Don’t work too hard!!!

  5. Patty / Jul 23 2010 1:52 AM

    Praying that your mom gets a good report and all is well. Don’t like figs but I do love peaches.

    Hope you get well soon.

  6. Vickie / Jul 22 2010 7:47 PM

    Hey girl – I’m still lifting your mom up. Sorry I had a customer the other day. It always happens when I get on the phone at work! I’m also praying for peace for you all as you wait…

    Hope your squeak is getting better – those kids all need yelling at – they’re way overdue!

    Fig preserves. Wow. Well, we gotta do what we gotta do when it’s ripe, don’t we? I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never tried fig preserves. Figs, yes. I can eat ’em, but they’re not my favorite. I need to try ’em again. We need to do some tradin’ here I think.

    Love ya!

  7. Glenda / Jul 22 2010 6:33 PM

    Sorry to hear you’re under the weather. I can’t believe you made fig jam while feeling that bad. I guess you just can’t keep a good woman down! I will continue to keep your mom in my prayers.

  8. Rayanne / Jul 22 2010 5:59 PM

    Those are my favorite figs!!! I view them as drugs( meaning I would do just about anything for them…hehe).
    I could make myself sick on them, really.
    Enjoyed your post. Can’t you tell, I was zeroing in on one thing and one thing only!!

Comments are closed.