Skip to content
July 21, 2010 / dcwisdom

God Bless America

Now and then, I’ll hop over to Pioneer Woman’s blog to look at her picture contests.  I lifted this picture…yep, I did.  It’s the most spectacular picture ever, in my opinion.

It actually took my breath away…stole my heart…made me cry…caused my heart to be so grateful and thankful…  Whoever rescripted this picture, thank you. 

“Raising the Flag on Iwo Jima” is one of the most famous pictures in the world of photography taken on February 23, 1945.  Sometime later, Felix de Weldon sculpted the picture, and one of the two sculptures rests in Harlingen, Texas, and the other at Arlington National Cemetery.  An oddity in the sculpture is that there are only six men, but a seventh is hidden.  We counted 14 legs but only six heads, and because of the complexity of the sculpture, we couldn’t locate the seventh man.  You would just have to be there.

 

Watching the news conference today with BOb and Mr. Prime Minister of Great Brittain, one of our most important allies, seemingly small steps of reconciliation were taken by BOb toward the Motherland, which, in my opinion, needed to be done.  BOb did a royal job of embarrassing Americans by sending back the bust of Winston Churchill and giving the Queen a ridiculous CD of some ludicrous rock group.  I became very irritated that BOb didn’t give any more respect to the Prime Minister, calling him by his first name, David, during the press conference.  It was BOb’s condescending and arrogant attitude with which I have issues.  I have a message for you, BOb:  You have a long row to hoe before you’re ever in the same class as the British Prime Minister!  How about a bit of humility and a month’s worth of lessons in manners and protocol!

Woooo — I’m on a roll tonight!  I’ll get off my soapbox now.  Hope you enjoy the picture.

God bless Israel.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God help America.

5 Comments

  1. Rayanne / Jul 22 2010 12:59 PM

    I did not know about that( sending back the bust of Winston Churchill and stuff),how sick( and not in a good way sick too)!

    Great photo.
    Missed you dear friend, but now I’m back blogging!

  2. Debby Pucci / Jul 21 2010 10:10 PM

    The picture is wonderful.

  3. Linda Sue / Jul 21 2010 9:57 AM

    I pray for the leader of our country – and one of the specifics in my prayers would be – be humbled and know God is God.

  4. Diana Ferguson / Jul 21 2010 6:47 AM

    I was blessed to get to see one of these statues in person this past spring!! Awesome…….

  5. photographyfree4all / Jul 21 2010 12:43 AM

    Yes, this is a wonderful shot! Thanks for this post.

Comments are closed.