Skip to content
July 7, 2010 / dcwisdom

Grits Supper

The storm clouds roared in this afternoon.

Bella, the chihuahua, and I curled up in the easy chair with our book after I cleaned my closet and did a bit of housekeeping.  She slept and I read.  And then I slept.  The perfect day to hibernate.

Long about supper time, I knew I didn’t want to go out, and I surely didn’t want to cook a meaty dinner for myself, so I searched the pantry and found the perfect thing…

I love grits.  Used not to love them.  Hated them.  But, now as I am moving into the “mature” years, I have found that I love them.  Is liking grits a sign of old age?  I never see young people eating grits.

Too, let me say that you don’t have to be a Southerner to like grits.  You don’t even have to live in the South to enjoy them.  You just have to know how to fix them.  After you follow the recipe on the box (haha!), add the butter, salt and pepper, a little dried parsley, maybe a finger pinch of garlic powder or minced onion, and a little grated cheese.  Ok, a lot of grated cheese.  Who’s looking.

How about some cheesy grits, wheat toast with homemade plum jelly, and a sliced tomato right off the vine.  A perfect evening meal!  Yum…

Just at sunset, the skies cleared.  It was a lovely day.  Quiet. 

Laus Deo.  Praise be to God.

8 Comments

  1. Debby Pucci / Jul 12 2010 10:36 AM

    They look good and I love cheese!
    I will have to make them sometime.

  2. Mary / Jul 8 2010 9:20 PM

    I am on a healthier eating kick this week…hopefully more than just a kick! I bought a box of instant oatmeal and instant grits. I love grits. Honestly, though, I’ve never tried them as a meal, especially have never had them with grated cheese. It sounds wonderful.

    I love your easy summer meal!

  3. tanna / Jul 8 2010 4:07 PM

    Little Man loves him some cheese grits! I can see right now, he would love to be eating with you Miss Debbie!

  4. Glenda / Jul 8 2010 3:04 PM

    I’ve never had grits, but those look so good! I know I’m older than you, so maybe I’ll try some and see if I like them, too. 🙂

  5. Rayanne / Jul 8 2010 1:43 PM

    Those photos looked sooo yummy, that now I want what you had.
    I love grits! Have you ever had them with black eyed peas and a little red-eye gravy? My mouth is watering.

  6. Linda Sue / Jul 8 2010 12:00 PM

    I like grits – really love ’em with sausage or cheese and jalapeno grits! I used to tell people it was a southern polenta – the word grits seems to bother folks so I just changed up the title and everyone loves them!

  7. Diana Ferguson / Jul 8 2010 6:24 AM

    Rain went around us! We are hoping for some today….

  8. Vickie / Jul 7 2010 11:44 PM

    Hi Giblet – you’re making me hungry and it’s almost midnight! I had oatmeal for supper, but those cheesegrits look so good. We had some storms come through, too, but it’s quiet now.

    You still enjoying your solitude? What a nice afternoon to nap…

Comments are closed.