Skip to content
July 1, 2010 / dcwisdom

July 4th Thoughts and Commentary

Friends (and foes), I’m going out on a faaaarrr limb today, so get ready.

I worked at the renovation house yesterday.  Between coats of paint, I settled on the front porch and watched the rain.  Rocking and watching the rain is therapeutic, an inexpensive form of therapy.  The Lord knows I need lots of therapy…

He and I commentate.  Lots of give and take.  Yesterday, we discussed the state of affairs and righteousness.  I had in mind Hurricane Alex and the oil spill in the Gulf and the effects of it felt hundreds of miles north.  I realize that many people don’t equate natural effects with the spiritual, but I do.

I realize that many people don’t equate our relationship with Israel to natural events, but I do.   In the past few years, many evangelists have been blasted for saying things like “this was God’s judgment for this event.”   I agree with them.  My question is where are God’s prophets today?  Why are we not hearing from God via His prophets?  Why is there no voice from the wilderness shouting about the judgments of God?  Doesn’t God still judge?

I recently picked up a pamphlet from David Wilkerson.  This man is the evangelist to the New York City gangs since the 1970’s.  He wrote the story about Nicky Cruz in The Cross and the Switchblade.  Wilkerson has been sounding the alarm for years and spends mega-amounts of time in prayer and weeping and fasting and proclaiming God’s prophetic message to our nation. 

But, do we hear the message?  The physical and spiritual worlds correlate!  What happens in the spiritual world manifests in the physical world. 

Take, for example, the marital relationship.  When a spouse leaves his/her relationship, they normally don’t leave on a whim.  It’s something that’s been brewing in his/her spirit for a while.  Sin (and yes, call it sin) starts with a look…a thought…and progresses with another look and another thought…and progresses further with a ‘small’ decision…another ‘small’ decision…another look, another thought…a phone call…a meeting…taking the person further and further away from their sacred relationship into a sinful relationship which always has ill effects.  But it starts in the spirit and manifests in the physical.

That’s why it’s vitally important to stay connected to Our Maker.  That’s why it’s important to make “righteous” decisions; weigh every decision against the Scripture.  Listen to the prophets.  Pray for one another, and pray for our leaders.

God impressed on my heart yesterday that He sent us His people to elect in the last election.  Sarah Palin is a righteous woman, but she was persecuted and not really supported by the majority of God’s people.  Mike Huckabee was another righteous person God sent.  But, God’s people did not rise up and take God’s provision.  I cannot count the number of believers I heard say “I’m voting history” or “this is historical” or “it’s time for a black president.”   No, it was not time for ‘hope and change’; it was time  for righteousness, and righteousness was rejected. 

Righteousness n :  acting or being in accordance with what is just, honorable, and free from guilt or wrong:  upright.  *synonyms – virtuous, noble, moral, ethical.

We do not have a righteous president.  Nor is he godly.  He has a form of godliness, but his acts and words proclaim his ungodliness.  I’m not judging here.  His acts are clear and consistent.  He does not bless Israel; rather, he spits on and jeers at them.  Dangerous.  He may be handsome and charismatic, but so is the devil.

The storm clouds are gathering.  Watch and pray, dear saints.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

Our lives are a journey we must travel with deep consciousness of God.  It cost God plenty to get us out of that dead-end, empty-headed life we grew up in.  He paid with Christ’s sacred blood…and this was no afterthought… (I Peter 1 The Message Remix)

7 Comments

  1. Vickie / Jul 6 2010 9:37 PM

    Good post, Deb. And right on. I think you voiced many of our feelings and opinions so eloquently. You have a way with words…

    I agree with you. We are praying for Jerusalem and America and our president. He definitely did bring change, but not the change that was needed. I’m praying for the November elections and the 2012 Presidential election, too.

    I’m also hearing from several who voted for obama that they’ve changed their minds and realized that a grievous mistake has been made. Most people voted for him because of his race. I still don’t believe that he is a natural born citizen of the USA – I don’t care what “they” say.

    Our futures are in the hands of the Almighty and no matter what happens, those of us who have been saved by the power of Christ are secure. Meanwhile, we still have to live here and so do our kids and grandkids. I pray that America can once again be a chosen people of God.

  2. Sue / Jul 4 2010 12:14 AM

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts today. I echo them all. So good to be in contact with like minded people. Praying with you for our country as we celebrate this weekend.

  3. Cheryl / Jul 2 2010 11:58 PM

    You and I have been praying for the same things this week! Our country, already in a heap of trouble, in the last presidential election couldn’t see past the “glitz” of making history by electing the first black president—-never mind the fact that he couldn’t manage a lemonade stand! What blind and foolish people! Many of them are now realizing what a foolish and perhaps devastating mistake that was. With you, I’m praying for the peace of Jerusalem and for the future of America. Thanks for voicing your thoughts. The truth will set us free!

  4. Carolyn Monroe / Jul 2 2010 9:39 PM

    First of all would you please send me some of your rain, it is needed badly….as we have had none….to the rest of your blog all I can say is AMEN….

  5. V (stickhorsecowgirl) / Jul 2 2010 10:31 AM

    Ditto – Amen – You are so right on all counts! I do not trust this man at all and you are right in regards to his stand towards Israel. He is NOT a friend of the Jews! When I heard his “pastor” ???? rant and rave like a lunatic- I couldn’t help but think ”What if George W. Bush’s pastor had said those outrageous, hateful things?!!! Can you imagine?

  6. jeanette / Jul 2 2010 5:55 AM

    Amen, sister. Wilkerson came to speak during a rivival week at my childhood church. I believe he’s truly walking the path God set for him and I’d love to attend his home church some day! I agree with everything you said in your post, Debbie. Indeed, God help America.

  7. Rayanne / Jul 2 2010 4:40 AM

    I’m not sure he even has the “form” of godliness.
    Please keep doing what you are doing, it may seem like nobody is listening, but some are and the more we say it the better.I’m praying with you.
    Side note:
    Love your white wicker rockers….love, love, love them!

Comments are closed.