Skip to content
June 21, 2010 / dcwisdom

Remembering and Celebrating

My Awesome Dad

Today, I’m remembering my dad.  This is one of my favorite pictures of him; he was always clowning or joking and had one of the best personalities ever.  He was a great dad.  His earthsuit stopped working last June 30 after battling Parkinsons and dementia, and I miss him for now.  But, I am promised to see him again because he’s with Jesus.   I love you, Dad.

My DIY Man

To My Husband:  I pay my most hearty respects to the man who has so singularly honored me – by being my husband for 35 years.

Today, we celebrated Rick by letting him cook.  My genius DIY man did it again.  In addition to the kabobs he grilled last night, he decided to tackle New York-style pizza. (His future plans are to build an outdoor wood-burning baking oven when we get to the renovation house and have lots of pizza parties.)   Once again, he out-did himself.

Pizza in the Raw

Rick found the pizza recipe online, and for some reason, he thinks that because it’s called “New York” that it’s better than Texas pizza, although I’ve never seen a pizza recipe called “Texas.”

Rick’s a scratch man and loves recipes that have bunches of steps in contrast to his wife who’s a four-ingredient-recipe-type of woman.  He would like for me to like bunches of steps, but, alas, I don’t.  Maybe someday I can hire him to cook full-time for me.  Probably won’t involve money…

Heat the stone

I have had the Pampered Chef stone for a few years as you can see.  The oven temp is 550 degrees.

Slide pizza onto stone

With the pizza paddle, slide the pizza onto the stone.  After only a few minutes, the pizza is cooked.

Pizza Goodness

Like this…

Oh My Thunder!

Oh….My….Thunder….

Holy Moly!

Yep, it was good.   A New York-style pizza cooked in Texas!  Oh my heavenly days!  I can celebrate that.

To all the great fathers out there:  May your check stubs outnumber your cigar stubs and balance your happiness.

Happy Father’s Day!

9 Comments

  1. Rayanne / Jun 22 2010 9:58 PM

    What a sweet post to your Dad and to honor your hubby.So glad you shared with us.
    I love Pampered Chef, and that pizza looks so yummy.
    I’m trying to get back to blogging, but it’s been hard with not feeling too good….I’m feeling much, much better now.You have been the best bloggy friend ever! Thanks friend!

  2. suzanne / Jun 22 2010 6:50 AM

    thanks so much for your suggestions on my blog today! I appreciate it. I am thinking of removing the lace tablecloth to see if that doesn’t help! That pizza looks really yummy!
    Suzanne

  3. Artswebshow / Jun 22 2010 6:32 AM

    that looks really appetising

  4. Diana Ferguson / Jun 22 2010 5:03 AM

    Enjoyed the post and pics!!!

  5. Debby Pucci / Jun 21 2010 9:57 PM

    Sounds like a perfect day. My dad will be 87 next Friday and went into the hospital on Saturday. His BP is out of control, dizzy and can’t walk. We really don’t know if he can go home again or a nursing home. This is
    very hard.

    Wow that pizza looks awesome. I love my pampered chef stone, they are the best. I made a turkey dinner for my husband. It was a great day. Have a wonderful week.

  6. Vickie / Jun 21 2010 7:40 PM

    Howdy-do, girlfriend! Got any leftover kabobs for breakfast? Well, I’ll be right over! Those look great!

    Yesterday was bittersweet for those of use who’ve lost their dads. We lost Tony’s dad about a year ago. I thought about him alot yesterday. But what it’s done for me is made me appreciate the time I have left with my parents. We wound up going with them to church last night and eating supper with them. I’ve always been a daddy’s girl, and always will be.

    Hey, that looks like the car lot at my house! I guess not so much any more but especially back when everybody was still at home, all ours plus a few friends. Our house was the place to be! It was messy, our grocery bill was out the roof, and our bunch kept late hours but I loved every single minute of it! I miss that!

  7. Glenda / Jun 21 2010 6:29 PM

    Your dad looks like he was a riot! I’m sure you really miss him. I miss mine a lot, too. Wow! Your husband can really bake! Mine doesn’t know how to turn the oven on. 🙂 That looks like some great pizza you enjoyed.

  8. Debbie / Jun 21 2010 5:37 PM

    You didn’t take after your dad, did ya! And Brin didn’t take after hers? LOL. You’ve truly been blessed in the area of dads. Sure would like a piece of that pizza:)
    Debbie

  9. mary / Jun 21 2010 3:14 PM

    Debbie, my dad passed away from complications of Parkinsons. He was demented as well. I’m glad we both have wonderful (and funny) memories of these great guys.

    The pizza looks wonderful. Sounds like you have another great guy.

Comments are closed.