Skip to content
June 20, 2010 / dcwisdom

Forget the Steak House

Last weekend, Rick and I ran to Texarkana (well, we didn’t actually run) and stopped in at Texas Roadhouse for dinner.  I can smell their yeast rolls now…   I order the sirloin kabobs with seasoned rice and grilled veggies.  It’s just the right amount of steak for me, and I love grilled vegetables.  Rick mostly stays with his favorite, chicken fried steak and gravy, but he ordered the sirloin kabobs after he tried mine a few weeks ago.

This is what my genius-husband Rick does.  He bites, his face lights up *zing – idea!*, and he says, “I think I can do this on the grill.”  I am so blessed.  He’s pure genius!

Sirloin Kabobs

Oh my thunder, it was hot today!  After working in the 100 degree heat and humidity all day, he comes home and does this!

Steaks and Kabobs

Let me tell ya – The man loves his herbs and spices.  I’ve spoiled him.  He cut the some steaks into pieces and marinated the whole steaks and pieces in Teriyaki overnight, just enough sauce to get some good flavor in them.   Right before he grilled while the charcoal was getting hot, he used steak rub and steak seasonings, both, then skewered the steak pieces and vegetables and grilled them to perfection.  Because that’s how he is – my DIY man.

Sirloin Kabobs

 

I was really tired around 9:30, so I went to bed which is a rarity for me.  Now, I’m up at 3 a.m. belching bell peppers and talking to you.  Oh, I have to show you the parking lot at my house, and this is how it looks every day.

The Car Lot

I call this trailer house “my beach-front property” because of the copious amount of sand, and I pretend that the highway noise is the roaring ocean.  A girl can dream…   That’s how I’m able to live here; it’s a mental thing.

And now, I’m going back to dreamland.  Night-night.  Sleep tight.  Don’t let the bed bugs bite.  Zzzzzzzzz…

3 Comments

  1. Debby Pucci / Jun 22 2010 3:47 AM

    Why wasn’t I invited – oh I’m not a dad!
    Look delicious.

  2. Debbie / Jun 21 2010 10:35 AM

    Looks like people know where the good food is! Hope you’re not paying the insurance on all those vehicles!
    Good food=get rolaids.
    Deb

  3. Mary Humphrey / Jun 21 2010 1:29 AM

    Girlie, it seems to be a good thing, the beach front spot!!! 🙂

    Your DIY did it up well…yum!!!

    Hotter than blazes here too. I am extra tired today so I am chilling in the A/C. We have it in 2 rooms, and that’s where I am parked today.

    Happy Sunday!

Comments are closed.