Skip to content
June 18, 2010 / dcwisdom

Plum Jelly Day

Hi, Friends.  The first news of the day is that Kid #4 Sam is home!   *Hallelujah!*  He surprised me by coming home earlier than he had announced, and I am thrilled.  Considering the busy-ness of his mission and jet lag, his system is off-kilter, and he’s sleeping at odd times but relating his stories and pictures and eating when he’s awake.  I’ll have more to tell you a little later when I can sort his information.  I thank each of you for the prayers you offered for his safety and health and mission.  Those prayers made a difference.

Today was jelly making day.  My two plum trees are loaded with golf-ball size plums; we’re still picking.  Also, Brin made pepper jelly, and we are gathering spearmint for mint jelly.

Plum Jelly

Plum Jelly

I’m telling you – jelly making is an involved process, but the results are oh-so-tasty.  I followed the recipe on the Ball Fruit Pectin box and made two recipes which yielded seven pints and seven half-pints using about 15 pounds of fruit.  My plum jelly is not translucent because I like a little texture to mine, so I allow fruit particles to sift through the colander instead of dripping the clear juice from cheesecloth.

Plum Jelly

Plum Jelly

Plum and Pepper Jellies

I can’t even tell you what my kitchen looked like, and I had to import a box fan to keep the heat down in the kitchen.

Pepper Jelly

It’s a very good idea to use latex or Playtex gloves when cutting up jalapeno peppers.   Keep the hands away from the eyes and mouth and nose and ears, but definitely give your brother a warm wet willy!  This group of colorful peppers made five half-pints and six four-ounce jars of jelly.

Pepper Jelly

Pepper Jelly

After cooking the jelly, drip green food coloring into the recipe and cook for another minute.

Pepper Jelly

Look at this beautiful green pepper jelly!

I told Sam I would fix fried chicken and mashed potatoes with gravy tonight for supper, and it’s pushing toward six o’clock.

Y’all have a great evening!  God bless you.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

P.S.  Please contact your congressmen and tell them we don’t want our utilities government-regulated.  I used a lot of ‘juice’ today making this jelly.

12 Comments

  1. Lois / Jun 19 2010 7:35 PM

    Wow! You’ve been busy!! Looks delicious!

  2. tanna / Jun 19 2010 5:13 AM

    Yummmmmy! You and Vickie are both making me drool with the jellies you are making. Looking forward to hearing more of Sam’s trip.

  3. Mary / Jun 18 2010 11:31 PM

    MMMMM! It all looks terrific. So glad to read Sam is back safe and sound; God is faithful.

  4. Shawnee Bowlin / Jun 18 2010 9:17 PM

    I’ve never made jelly! Thanks for the invitation. My Mom is visiting right now, though. I’m watching her like a hawk; she’s not been doing well.
    Wow, does that pepper jelly look good!
    I know what you mean about Sam being around. I get to missing Josh and he lives right here in town.

  5. Vickie / Jun 18 2010 11:43 AM

    Hey, friend – I been makin’ jelly, too! Saturday all day with my sister, and again tonight with my almost child, Kristen – she’s 25 and she loves all things Old timey! I wish you and I could make some jelly together – wouldn’t that be so FUN!!!

    I’ve got jalapenos out the kazoo and I wanna make some jelly with them. Do you have a good recipe you could send me? Or did you get that from the Ball book? I have one of those, but haven’t looked in it yet!

    Your plum looks great! It’s lighter than mine – what kind of plums have you got? Mine are Methley and they’re dark purple and the jelly turns out real dark, too. I leave plum goo in my jelly, too, but that clear red is really pretty, too. My, but wouldn’t we have a big ole mess together!!!

    Glad your Sammy Boy is home. Doncha just go over and squeeze him and pat on him every time he’s near??? Feels so good!

  6. Debby Pucci / Jun 18 2010 10:49 AM

    Thanks for answering my questions about the jelly. Why doesn’t your profile show this blog. Usually if someone is a no-reply I go to their profile to go to your blog.
    I had to go into my reader to find you. Just wondering.
    Anyway I got that joke in an email this week. I wonder why you can’t read it. It’s my followers list! Hope you have a great weekend.

    • dcwisdom / Jun 18 2010 11:03 AM

      Debby, I guess I’m dense about your question/comment. Would you mind telling me what you mean, please? Thanks. Maybe I can clear up something that’s not working for me/you.

  7. Glenda / Jun 18 2010 8:11 AM

    Your jelly looks great! I’ve never tried pepper jelly. I’ll be making blackberry tomorrow. Not looking forward to the mess, but I do enjoy making the jelly.

  8. Patty / Jun 18 2010 8:05 AM

    So glad to hear Sam made it home safe. Will be watching for his stories he tells you.

    Jelly looks wonderful. I miss making jelly but I can’t afford to make anything right now. My son actually loves apple cider jam. Taste great. Never made it myself. They sell it at our Farmer’s Market on Sat. mornings.

    Again. So glad to hear Sam is home safe and sound.

  9. Debby Pucci / Jun 18 2010 6:07 AM

    Wow, that looks like allot of work. The plum jelly looks wonderful. What do you use the pepper jelly on?

  10. Linda Sue / Jun 18 2010 5:23 AM

    Good to hear your Sam is home and oh my goodness – you make plum jelly just exactly the way I like it – little bits of plum meat in there! The pepper jelly makes me want to pull out a chunk of cream cheese and some crackers!

  11. jeanette / Jun 18 2010 5:20 AM

    Debbie,

    I’m so glad Sam made it home safely and is having his good vittles tonight. Please tell Brin I sure miss her blog posts but can understand having too many irons in the fire. By the way, I think I’ve told you before but I call my youngest grandbaby, Brendon, either Brenny or Bren.

    Also, if I send you money for postage and to cover the ‘juice’ can I purchase a jar of that delicious lookin’ plum jelly? One of my favorite fruits is plums and it sure looks to be good jelly. I too like the pieces of fruit in mine – so good on cathead biscuits!

    Have a good evening with your babies. Jeanette

Comments are closed.